Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Animal Protection Voters

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
NM State House 9 Patricia Lundstrom Democratic 67%
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic 60%
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic 100%
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican 40%
NM State House 32 Dona Irwin Democratic 75%
NM State House 36 Andy Nuñez Republican 60%
NM State House 38 Dianne Hamilton Republican 40%
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic 80%
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic 0%
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic 75%
NM State House 44 Jane Powdrell-Culbert Republican 80%
NM State House 45 Jim Trujillo Democratic 100%
NM State House 48 Luciano Varela Democratic 75%
NM State House 49 Don Tripp Republican 25%
NM State House 65 James Madalena, Jr. Democratic 67%
NM State Senate 1 William Sharer Republican 50%
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 5 Richard Martinez Democratic 50%
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic 33%
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 11 Linda Lopez Democratic 75%
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 19 Sue Wilson Beffort Republican 100%
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican 50%
NM State Senate 24 Nancy Rodriguez Democratic 67%
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican 33%
NM State Senate 29 Michael Sanchez Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 31 Joseph Cervantes Democratic 80%
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 38 Mary Papen Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican 50%
NM State Senate 42 Gay Kernan Republican 75%
Rod Adair 33%
Ben Altamirano 100%
Thomas Anderson 80%
Janice Arnold-Jones 40%
Ray Begaye 100%
Mark Boitano 50%
William Boykin 100%
Donald Bratton 60%
Jose Campos II 80%
Joseph Carraro 100%
Kandy Cordova 50%
Kent Cravens 100%
Anna Crook 50%
Dianna Duran 50%
Dede Feldman 67%
Joseph Fidel 100%
Daniel Foley 50%
Mary Helen Garcia 80%
Mary Jane Garcia 75%
Phil Griego 60%
George Hanosh 80%
Clinton Harden, Jr. 50%
Irvin Harrison 80%
John Heaton 60%
Manuel Herrera 60%
Ted Hobbs 80%
Timothy Jennings 75%
Rhonda Sue King 75%
Steve Komadina 50%
Antonio Lujan 60%
Ben Lujan, Sr. 100%
Fred Luna 50%
Terry Marquardt 20%
Ken Martinez 100%
Rick Miera 100%
Brian Moore 80%
Cynthia Nava 67%
Al Park 80%
Danice Picraux 75%
Lidio Rainaldi 100%
Leonard Lee Rawson 50%
Shannon Robinson 100%
Henry Saavedra 80%
Bernadette Sanchez 100%
Edward Sandoval 50%
Daniel Silva 60%
Helen Diane Snyder 100%
Joe Stell, Jr. 60%
Thomas Swisstack 80%
James Taylor 0%
Thomas Taylor 40%
Sandra Townsend 40%
Leonard Tsosie 67%
Gloria Vaughn 50%
Richard Vigil 80%
Jeannette Wallace 40%
Donald Whitaker 60%
Walter Williams 80%
Avon Wilson 60%
Eric Youngberg 80%
Teresa Zanetti 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top