or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Competitive Enterprise Institute

1994 Deregulation Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 71%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 83%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 33%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 29%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 86%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 17%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 83%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 14%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 50%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 29%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 43%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 50%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 100%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 86%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 43%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 40%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 71%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 14%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 86%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 14%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 86%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 14%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 14%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 67%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 86%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 67%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 86%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 50%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 57%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 57%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 43%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 100%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 100%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 57%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 83%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 43%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 0%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 86%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 43%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 14%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 86%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 71%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 57%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 14%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 71%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 29%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 29%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 43%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 17%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 100%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 43%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 14%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 43%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 86%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 33%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 86%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 14%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 14%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 14%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 100%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 86%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 14%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 71%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 0%
Gary Ackerman 40%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 100%
Rob Andrews 29%
Bill Archer 100%
Richard Armey 100%
Henry Scott Baesler 57%
Richard Hugh Baker 86%
William Baker 100%
Cass Ballenger 100%
James Barcia 71%
Bill Barrett 86%
Roscoe Bartlett 86%
Herbert Bateman 67%
Max Baucus 14%
Anthony Beilenson 14%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 43%
Howard Berman 0%
Tom Bevill 71%
Michael Bilirakis 86%
Jeff Bingaman 14%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 100%
Peter Blute 57%
Sherwood Boehlert 71%
Kit Bond 86%
Henry Bonilla 86%
David Edward Bonior 29%
Rick Boucher 83%
Bill Bradley 0%
John Breaux 14%
George Brown, Jr. 29%
Hank Brown 86%
Richard Bryan 14%
John Bryant 57%
Dale Bumpers 29%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 71%
Dan Burton 100%
Steve Buyer 86%
Robert Byrd 14%
Herbert Callahan 86%
Ben Campbell 20%
Mike Castle 71%
John Chafee 71%
William Clay, Sr. 50%
Eva Clayton 29%
William Cohen 86%
Ronald Coleman 43%
Barbara-Rose Collins 17%
Cardiss Collins 43%
Michael Collins 100%
Larry Combest 86%
Gary Condit 71%
Kent Conrad 14%
Jerry Costello 67%
Paul Coverdell 100%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 86%
Robert Cramer 71%
Philip Crane 100%
Randall Cunningham 86%
Alfonse D'Amato 71%
Patsy Ann Danner 71%
Thomas Daschle 0%
E. Kika de la Garza 14%
Thomas DeLay 100%
Ronald Dellums 17%
Peter Deutsch 57%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 43%
Jay Dickey 100%
Norm Dicks 50%
Julian Dixon 14%
Chris Dodd 0%
Robert Dole 86%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 86%
Calvin Dooley 43%
John Doolittle 100%
Byron Dorgan 0%
Robert Dornan 100%
David Dreier 100%
Jennifer Dunn 100%
Chet Edwards 57%
Vern Ehlers 100%
Bill Emerson 86%
Lane Evans 14%
Terry Everett 86%
Thomas Ewing 86%
Jim Exon 14%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 100%
Harris Fawell 71%
Victor Fazio 29%
Russ Feingold 0%
Cleo Fields 14%
Jack Fields, Jr. 86%
Bob Filner 14%
Floyd Flake 14%
Wendell Ford 0%
Tillie Fowler 100%
Barney Frank 14%
Gary Franks 83%
Robert Franks 57%
Jonas Frost III 50%
Elton Gallegly 100%
Sam Gejdenson 14%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top