or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Competitive Enterprise Institute

1994 Budget Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 71%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 40%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 87%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 6%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 15%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 3%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 76%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 3%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 3%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 76%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 97%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 3%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 3%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 88%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 78%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 79%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 88%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 9%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 3%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 56%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 90%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 88%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 3%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 19%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 76%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 6%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 71%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 85%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 71%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 65%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 7%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 9%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 15%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 3%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 5%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 82%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 82%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 12%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 0%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 62%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 48%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 3%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 11%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 14%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 97%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 15%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 79%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 44%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 5%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 23%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 85%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 6%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 12%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 3%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 94%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 94%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 62%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 81%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 25%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 81%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 3%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 88%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 3%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 70%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 12%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 3%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 100%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 88%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 29%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 0%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 3%
Gary Ackerman 6%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 94%
Rob Andrews 56%
Bill Archer 97%
Richard Armey 97%
Henry Scott Baesler 24%
Richard Hugh Baker 85%
William Baker 79%
Cass Ballenger 88%
James Barcia 35%
Bill Barrett 85%
Roscoe Bartlett 91%
Herbert Bateman 68%
Max Baucus 14%
Anthony Beilenson 3%
Bob Bennett 81%
Douglas Bereuter 56%
Howard Berman 3%
Tom Bevill 3%
Michael Bilirakis 74%
Jeff Bingaman 19%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 77%
Peter Blute 76%
Sherwood Boehlert 47%
Kit Bond 52%
Henry Bonilla 82%
David Edward Bonior 0%
Rick Boucher 0%
Bill Bradley 42%
John Breaux 15%
George Brown, Jr. 0%
Hank Brown 100%
Richard Bryan 19%
John Bryant 6%
Dale Bumpers 5%
Jim Bunning 88%
Conrad Burns 74%
Dan Burton 94%
Steve Buyer 76%
Robert Byrd 10%
Herbert Callahan 85%
Ben Campbell 10%
Mike Castle 79%
John Chafee 40%
William Clay, Sr. 0%
Eva Clayton 6%
William Cohen 50%
Ronald Coleman 3%
Barbara-Rose Collins 0%
Cardiss Collins 0%
Michael Collins 94%
Larry Combest 85%
Gary Condit 65%
Kent Conrad 14%
Jerry Costello 24%
Paul Coverdell 81%
Christopher Cox 83%
Larry Craig 90%
Robert Cramer 15%
Philip Crane 100%
Randall Cunningham 76%
Alfonse D'Amato 67%
Patsy Ann Danner 15%
Thomas Daschle 5%
E. Kika de la Garza 12%
Thomas DeLay 94%
Ronald Dellums 0%
Peter Deutsch 26%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 59%
Jay Dickey 82%
Norm Dicks 9%
Julian Dixon 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
Robert Dole 86%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 52%
Calvin Dooley 16%
John Doolittle 91%
Byron Dorgan 10%
Robert Dornan 91%
David Dreier 91%
Jennifer Dunn 82%
Chet Edwards 32%
Vern Ehlers 71%
Bill Emerson 73%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 79%
Thomas Ewing 82%
Jim Exon 14%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 100%
Harris Fawell 85%
Victor Fazio 0%
Russ Feingold 43%
Cleo Fields 3%
Jack Fields, Jr. 84%
Bob Filner 6%
Floyd Flake 0%
Wendell Ford 10%
Tillie Fowler 79%
Barney Frank 15%
Gary Franks 77%
Robert Franks 85%
Jonas Frost III 12%
Elton Gallegly 81%
Sam Gejdenson 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top