or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Competitive Enterprise Institute

1994 Spending Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 33%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 9%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 76%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 85%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 2%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 19%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 81%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 9%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 92%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 2%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 57%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 94%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 2%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 5%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 67%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 5%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 39%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 71%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 76%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 5%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 10%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 33%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 2%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 65%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 15%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 84%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 10%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 8%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 5%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 77%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 8%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 51%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 80%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 54%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 39%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 4%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 2%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 4%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 6%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 6%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 8%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 65%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 55%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 8%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 5%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 9%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 46%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 38%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 2%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 8%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 19%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 88%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 4%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 27%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 8%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 19%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 69%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 7%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 7%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 9%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 2%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 6%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 82%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 61%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 81%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 6%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 4%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 62%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 10%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 85%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 7%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 60%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 19%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 8%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 8%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 6%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 98%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 88%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 23%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 4%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 10%
Gary Ackerman 5%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 96%
Rob Andrews 40%
Bill Archer 96%
Richard Armey 96%
Henry Scott Baesler 16%
Richard Hugh Baker 67%
William Baker 83%
Cass Ballenger 88%
James Barcia 25%
Bill Barrett 85%
Roscoe Bartlett 83%
Herbert Bateman 43%
Max Baucus 35%
Anthony Beilenson 6%
Bob Bennett 62%
Douglas Bereuter 71%
Howard Berman 4%
Tom Bevill 14%
Michael Bilirakis 65%
Jeff Bingaman 15%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 71%
Peter Blute 33%
Sherwood Boehlert 17%
Kit Bond 31%
Henry Bonilla 76%
David Edward Bonior 2%
Rick Boucher 12%
Bill Bradley 48%
John Breaux 8%
George Brown, Jr. 4%
Hank Brown 96%
Richard Bryan 24%
John Bryant 6%
Dale Bumpers 23%
Jim Bunning 86%
Conrad Burns 50%
Dan Burton 92%
Steve Buyer 67%
Robert Byrd 19%
Herbert Callahan 59%
Ben Campbell 27%
Mike Castle 67%
John Chafee 69%
William Clay, Sr. 17%
Eva Clayton 4%
William Cohen 62%
Ronald Coleman 2%
Barbara-Rose Collins 9%
Cardiss Collins 12%
Michael Collins 85%
Larry Combest 90%
Gary Condit 63%
Kent Conrad 27%
Jerry Costello 39%
Paul Coverdell 69%
Christopher Cox 91%
Larry Craig 65%
Robert Cramer 12%
Philip Crane 98%
Randall Cunningham 59%
Alfonse D'Amato 31%
Patsy Ann Danner 20%
Thomas Daschle 12%
E. Kika de la Garza 9%
Thomas DeLay 86%
Ronald Dellums 12%
Peter Deutsch 8%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 19%
Jay Dickey 73%
Norm Dicks 4%
Julian Dixon 4%
Chris Dodd 8%
Robert Dole 65%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 35%
Calvin Dooley 21%
John Doolittle 92%
Byron Dorgan 23%
Robert Dornan 87%
David Dreier 94%
Jennifer Dunn 65%
Chet Edwards 20%
Vern Ehlers 61%
Bill Emerson 60%
Lane Evans 4%
Terry Everett 59%
Thomas Ewing 69%
Jim Exon 19%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 81%
Harris Fawell 90%
Victor Fazio 4%
Russ Feingold 58%
Cleo Fields 6%
Jack Fields, Jr. 90%
Bob Filner 0%
Floyd Flake 2%
Wendell Ford 15%
Tillie Fowler 49%
Barney Frank 6%
Gary Franks 47%
Robert Franks 61%
Jonas Frost III 5%
Elton Gallegly 62%
Sam Gejdenson 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top