or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Competitive Enterprise Institute

1994 Trade Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 50%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 50%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 50%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 50%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 50%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 100%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 0%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 50%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 50%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 0%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 50%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 50%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 50%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 50%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 0%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 100%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 50%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 50%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 50%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 0%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 0%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 50%
Wayne Allard 50%
Rob Andrews 0%
Bill Archer 100%
Richard Armey 100%
Henry Scott Baesler 100%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
William Baker 100%
Cass Ballenger 100%
James Barcia 0%
Bill Barrett 100%
Roscoe Bartlett 50%
Herbert Bateman 100%
Max Baucus 0%
Anthony Beilenson 100%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 100%
Howard Berman 100%
Tom Bevill 100%
Michael Bilirakis 0%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 100%
Peter Blute 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
Kit Bond 50%
Henry Bonilla 50%
David Edward Bonior 50%
Rick Boucher 100%
Bill Bradley 100%
John Breaux 50%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
Hank Brown 50%
Richard Bryan 50%
John Bryant 100%
Dale Bumpers 50%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 0%
Dan Burton 0%
Steve Buyer 50%
Robert Byrd 0%
Herbert Callahan 50%
Ben Campbell 0%
Mike Castle 100%
John Chafee 100%
William Clay, Sr. 50%
Eva Clayton 100%
William Cohen 100%
Ronald Coleman 100%
Barbara-Rose Collins 50%
Cardiss Collins 50%
Michael Collins 0%
Larry Combest 50%
Gary Condit 0%
Kent Conrad 50%
Jerry Costello 0%
Paul Coverdell 50%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 0%
Philip Crane 100%
Randall Cunningham 50%
Alfonse D'Amato 100%
Patsy Ann Danner 0%
Thomas Daschle 50%
E. Kika de la Garza 100%
Thomas DeLay 100%
Ronald Dellums 50%
Peter Deutsch 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 0%
Jay Dickey 0%
Norm Dicks 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 50%
Robert Dole 50%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
Calvin Dooley 100%
John Doolittle 0%
Byron Dorgan 0%
Robert Dornan 0%
David Dreier 100%
Jennifer Dunn 100%
Chet Edwards 100%
Vern Ehlers 50%
Bill Emerson 50%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 0%
Thomas Ewing 100%
Jim Exon 0%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 50%
Harris Fawell 100%
Victor Fazio 100%
Russ Feingold 50%
Cleo Fields 50%
Jack Fields, Jr. 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Floyd Flake 100%
Wendell Ford 50%
Tillie Fowler 100%
Barney Frank 50%
Gary Franks 100%
Robert Franks 100%
Jonas Frost III 100%
Elton Gallegly 0%
Sam Gejdenson 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top