or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Competitive Enterprise Institute

1994 Environment Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 25%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 50%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 78%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 22%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 11%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 44%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 11%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 96%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 8%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 67%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 92%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 62%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 11%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 11%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 78%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 8%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 11%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 4%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 60%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 78%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 11%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 4%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 22%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 22%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 96%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 95%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 92%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 96%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 92%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 8%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 87%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 9%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 42%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 92%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 29%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 4%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 4%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 4%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 8%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 72%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 0%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 17%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 96%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 72%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 8%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 22%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 13%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 48%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 4%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 88%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 38%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 83%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 9%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 9%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 9%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 12%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 9%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 8%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 92%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 84%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 92%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 92%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 29%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 8%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 8%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 92%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 16%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 64%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 4%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 84%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 72%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 21%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 33%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 4%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 88%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 22%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 0%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 76%
Gary Ackerman 22%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 11%
Wayne Allard 92%
Rob Andrews 29%
Bill Archer 96%
Richard Armey 100%
Henry Scott Baesler 44%
Richard Hugh Baker 88%
William Baker 100%
Cass Ballenger 92%
James Barcia 54%
Bill Barrett 96%
Roscoe Bartlett 88%
Herbert Bateman 67%
Max Baucus 11%
Anthony Beilenson 4%
Bob Bennett 78%
Douglas Bereuter 60%
Howard Berman 4%
Tom Bevill 23%
Michael Bilirakis 83%
Jeff Bingaman 22%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 92%
Peter Blute 48%
Sherwood Boehlert 24%
Kit Bond 29%
Henry Bonilla 92%
David Edward Bonior 4%
Rick Boucher 17%
Bill Bradley 25%
John Breaux 33%
George Brown, Jr. 4%
Hank Brown 89%
Richard Bryan 0%
John Bryant 16%
Dale Bumpers 11%
Jim Bunning 92%
Conrad Burns 62%
Dan Burton 92%
Steve Buyer 88%
Robert Byrd 33%
Herbert Callahan 91%
Ben Campbell 11%
Mike Castle 64%
John Chafee 0%
William Clay, Sr. 5%
Eva Clayton 4%
William Cohen 22%
Ronald Coleman 12%
Barbara-Rose Collins 5%
Cardiss Collins 8%
Michael Collins 88%
Larry Combest 92%
Gary Condit 58%
Kent Conrad 25%
Jerry Costello 25%
Paul Coverdell 67%
Christopher Cox 96%
Larry Craig 67%
Robert Cramer 41%
Philip Crane 100%
Randall Cunningham 88%
Alfonse D'Amato 78%
Patsy Ann Danner 50%
Thomas Daschle 11%
E. Kika de la Garza 39%
Thomas DeLay 95%
Ronald Dellums 0%
Peter Deutsch 4%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 52%
Jay Dickey 92%
Norm Dicks 21%
Julian Dixon 8%
Chris Dodd 11%
Robert Dole 67%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 44%
Calvin Dooley 60%
John Doolittle 92%
Byron Dorgan 22%
Robert Dornan 91%
David Dreier 95%
Jennifer Dunn 84%
Chet Edwards 60%
Vern Ehlers 38%
Bill Emerson 92%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 88%
Thomas Ewing 88%
Jim Exon 11%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 89%
Harris Fawell 36%
Victor Fazio 30%
Russ Feingold 0%
Cleo Fields 17%
Jack Fields, Jr. 92%
Bob Filner 4%
Floyd Flake 18%
Wendell Ford 11%
Tillie Fowler 92%
Barney Frank 8%
Gary Franks 21%
Robert Franks 30%
Jonas Frost III 38%
Elton Gallegly 88%
Sam Gejdenson 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top