Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Chamber of Commerce

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 50%
Gary Ackerman 67%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 82%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 50%
Todd Akin 89%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 75%
Rodney Alexander 94%
Jason Altmire 61%
Rob Andrews 63%
Michael Arcuri 67%
Joe Baca, Sr. 67%
Michele Bachmann 94%
Spencer Bachus 94%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 100%
Brian Baird 50%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 56%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 75%
J. Gresham Barrett 94%
John Barrow 67%
Roscoe Bartlett 78%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 94%
Max Baucus 75%
Evan Bayh 63%
Melissa Bean 83%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 50%
Bob Bennett 100%
Shelley Berkley 67%
Howard Berman 69%
Marion Berry 56%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 71%
Judy Biggert 94%
Brian Bilbray 88%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 83%
Jeff Bingaman 50%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 81%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 67%
Tim Bishop 71%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 83%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 53%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 83%
John Boehner 94%
Kit Bond 100%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 94%
Mary Bono Mack 88%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 94%
Dan Boren 78%
Leonard Boswell 61%
Rick Boucher 61%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 94%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 57%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 67%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 88%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 56%
Bruce Braley 56%
Paul Broun 67%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 69%
Henry Brown, Jr. 94%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 63%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 88%
Ginny Brown-Waite 79%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 83%
Jim Bunning 75%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 76%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 100%
Dan Burton 89%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 56%
Steve Buyer 81%
Robert Byrd 57%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
Dave Camp 94%
John Campbell III 76%
Eric Cantor 94%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 50%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 78%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 61%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 67%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 63%
Dennis Cardoza 65%
Russ Carnahan 61%
Christopher Carney 59%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 63%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 53%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 94%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 63%
Mike Castle 78%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 63%
Saxby Chambliss 100%
Ben Chandler III 61%
Travis Childers 64%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 56%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 47%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 61%
Hillary Clinton 67%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 56%
Howard Coble 89%
Thomas Coburn 75%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 88%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 61%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 94%
Norm Coleman 83%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 89%
Kent Conrad 57%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 50%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 72%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 75%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 67%
Jerry Costello 50%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 50%
Larry Craig 86%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 75%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 67%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 72%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 88%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 50%
Artur Davis 67%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 56%
Geoff Davis 89%
Lincoln Davis 61%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 56%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 83%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 50%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 59%
Bill Delahunt 56%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 56%
James DeMint 57%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 83%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 82%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 83%
Norm Dicks 67%
John Dingell 56%
Chris Dodd 50%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 50%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 72%
Byron Dorgan 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 56%
David Dreier 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 72%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 63%
MD U.S. House 4 Donna Edwards Democratic 58%
Chet Edwards 67%
Vern Ehlers 100%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 56%
Brad Ellsworth 72%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 67%
Jo Ann Emerson 83%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 65%
John Ensign 88%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 75%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 61%
Bob Etheridge 67%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 61%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 53%
Russ Feingold 38%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 63%
Bob Filner 47%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 61%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 78%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 72%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 94%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 56%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 78%
Barney Frank 61%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 76%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 100%
Elton Gallegly 89%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 78%
Jim Gerlach 81%
Gabrielle Giffords 67%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 69%
Phil Gingrey 78%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 75%
Charlie Gonzalez 61%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 83%
Bart Gordon 67%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 67%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 59%
Judd Gregg 86%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 44%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 56%
Charles Hagel 83%
John Hall 56%
Ralph Hall 83%
Phil Hare 56%
Tom Harkin 50%
Jane Harman 65%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 65%
Doc Hastings 88%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
NV U.S. Senate Jr Dean Heller Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 78%
Wally Herger, Jr. 89%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 56%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top