or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States Chamber of Commerce

2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 45%
Gary Ackerman 37%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 53%
Todd Akin 85%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 95%
Thomas Allen 53%
Rob Andrews 32%
Joe Baca, Sr. 42%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 100%
Brian Baird 58%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 25%
Cass Ballenger 90%
Roscoe Bartlett 80%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 100%
Charlie Bass 90%
Max Baucus 70%
Evan Bayh 65%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 32%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 90%
Shelley Berkley 50%
Howard Berman 37%
Marion Berry 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
Judy Biggert 100%
Michael Bilirakis 89%
Jeff Bingaman 60%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 55%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 35%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 100%
Sherwood Boehlert 90%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 100%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 95%
Mary Bono Mack 95%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 95%
Leonard Boswell 55%
Rick Boucher 70%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 40%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 58%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 45%
John Breaux 79%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 42%
Henry Brown, Jr. 95%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 25%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 95%
Conrad Burns 90%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 100%
Dan Burton 80%
Steve Buyer 94%
Robert Byrd 40%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 100%
Ben Campbell 85%
Chris Cannon 94%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 55%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 45%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 28%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 55%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 50%
Brad Carson 75%
Julia Carson 37%
Mike Castle 95%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 90%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 63%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 90%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 44%
Hillary Clinton 45%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 50%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 75%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
Michael Collins 85%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 85%
Larry Combest 100%
Kent Conrad 45%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 21%
Jon Corzine 50%
Jerry Costello 50%
Christopher Cox 89%
Larry Craig 90%
Robert Cramer 80%
Philip Crane 94%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 94%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 50%
Barbara Cubin 88%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 45%
Randall Cunningham 89%
Thomas Daschle 58%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 42%
James Davis 65%
Jo Ann Davis 75%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 50%
Thomas Davis III 84%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 45%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 35%
Bill Delahunt 39%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 35%
Thomas DeLay 95%
James DeMint 90%
Peter Deutsch 45%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 95%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 83%
Norm Dicks 60%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 42%
Chris Dodd 40%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 30%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Calvin Dooley 85%
John Doolittle 84%
Byron Dorgan 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 45%
David Dreier 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 75%
Jennifer Dunn 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 50%
John Edwards 55%
Chet Edwards 65%
Vern Ehlers 95%
Jo Ann Emerson 95%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
Philip English 95%
John Ensign 95%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 42%
Bob Etheridge 60%
Lane Evans 40%
Terry Everett 84%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 35%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 37%
Russ Feingold 20%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 55%
Michael Ferguson 85%
Bob Filner 25%
Peter Fitzgerald 90%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 65%
Ernest Fletcher 95%
Mark Foley 95%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 85%
Harold Ford, Jr. 63%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 95%
Barney Frank 26%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 95%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 50%
Elton Gallegly 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 35%
Jim Gibbons 90%
Wayne Gilchrest 94%
Paul Gillmor 100%
Charlie Gonzalez 45%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 75%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
Bart Gordon 68%
Porter Goss 100%
Daniel Graham 60%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 95%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 95%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 95%
Mark Green 95%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 35%
James Greenwood 95%
Judd Gregg 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 42%
Gilbert Gutknecht 85%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 85%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 45%
Jane Harman 65%
Melissa Hart 95%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 42%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 100%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
Robert Hayes 75%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 85%
Joel Hefley 78%
Wally Herger, Jr. 100%
Baron Hill 65%
Maurice Hinchey 30%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 61%
David Lee Hobson 100%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 50%
Pete Hoekstra 85%
Thomas Holden 60%
Ernest Hollings 55%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 30%
Darlene Hooley 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top