Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action

1998 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Dion Aroner 0%
Robert Bernstein 0%
Frederick Berry 0%
Thomas Birmingham 0%
Debra Bowen 0%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 0%
MA Mayor At-Large Michael Cahill 0%
Gale Candaras 0%
Paul Casey 0%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 0%
Edward Connolly 0%
Geraldine Creedon 0%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 0%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 0%
Paul Demakis 0%
David Donnelly 0%
Carol Donovan 0%
Christopher Fallon 0%
Susan Fargo 0%
MA State House Tenth Essex Robert Fennell Democratic 0%
Barry Finegold 0%
MA State House Seventh Suffolk Gloria Fox Democratic 0%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Paul Haley 0%
Lida Harkins 0%
John Hart, Jr. 0%
Robert Havern III 0%
Christopher Hodgkins 0%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 0%
Cheryl Ann Jacques 0%
MA Councilor At-Large James Jajuga 0%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 0%
MA State Senate Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth Brian Joyce Democratic 0%
Rachel Kaprielian 0%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 0%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 0%
Peter Koutoujian 0%
Peter Larkin 0%
David Magnani 0%
MA State House Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia Democratic 0%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 0%
MA State Senate Third Essex Thomas McGee Democratic 0%
William McManus II 0%
Carole Migden 0%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 0%
Kevin Murphy 0%
Therese Murray 0%
Eugene O'Flaherty 0%
Deborah Ortiz 0%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 0%
Steven Panagiotakos 0%
Anne Marie Paulsen 0%
Douglas Petersen 0%
Richard Polanco 0%
Ruth Provost 0%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 0%
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic 0%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 0%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 0%
Jack Scott 0%
Kevin Shelley 0%
John Slattery 0%
Nell Soto 0%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 0%
Harriett Stanley 0%
John Stasik 0%
John Stefanini 0%
Darrell Steinberg 0%
MA State House Third Hampshire Ellen Story Democratic 0%
Joseph Sullivan 0%
Steven Tolman 0%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 0%
MA State House Twenty-Sixth Middlesex Tim Toomey, Jr. Democratic 0%
Robert Travaglini 0%
Susan Tucker 0%
Anthony Verga 0%
Antonio Villaraigosa 0%
Marian Walsh 0%
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh 0%
Dianne Wilkerson 0%
Alice Wolf 0%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Steven Angelo 0%
Daniel Bosley 0%
CA U.S. House 29 Tony Cárdenas Democratic 0%
Dennis Cardoza 0%
Paul Caron 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
Evelyn Chesky 0%
Vincent Paul Ciampa 0%
Carol Cleven 0%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 0%
Salvatore DiMasi 0%
Martha Escutia 0%
Liz Figueroa 0%
Thomas Finneran 0%
Kevin Fitzgerald 0%
Martin Gallegos 0%
Barbara Gardner 0%
Anthony Philip Giglio 0%
Sally Havice 0%
CA State Senate 18 Robert Hertzberg Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 0%
Frank Hynes 0%
Fred Keeley 0%
Wally Knox 0%
Sheila Kuehl 0%
Ted Lempert 0%
Maryanne Lewis 0%
John Locke 0%
Michael Machado 0%
Kerry Mazzoni 0%
Charles Murphy 0%
Kevin Murray 0%
Jack O'Connell 0%
Louis Papan 0%
Vincent Pedone 0%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 0%
CA Supervisor 1 Hilda Solis 0%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 0%
Virginia Strom-Martin 0%
Helen Thomson 0%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 0%
Edward Vincent 0%
Carl Washington 0%
Howard Wayne 0%
Scott Wildman 0%
James Cunneen 0%
Dave Cox 0%
Steve Peace 0%
Robert Correia 0%
MA State House Third Essex Brian Dempsey Democratic 0%
David Flynn 0%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 0%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 0%
George Rogers 0%
J. Michael Ruane 0%
MA State House Eleventh Hampden Benjamin Swan, Sr. Democratic 0%
Kathleen Teahan 0%
Eric Turkington 0%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 0%
Denise Ducheny 0%
James Fagan 0%
Richard Floyd 0%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 0%
David Gately 0%
Emile Goguen 0%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 0%
Thomas Kennedy 0%
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 0%
Michael Morrissey 0%
William Nagle, Jr. 0%
Rod Pacheco 0%
Marie Parente 0%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 0%
Stephen Tobin 0%
Charlene Zettel 0%
Jarrett Barrios 0%
Ken Maddox 0%
Robert Pacheco 0%
John Fresolo 0%
Lynne Leach 0%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 0%
Mary Jeanette Murray 0%
Anthony Pescetti 0%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Roy Ashburn 0%
MA State House First Norfolk Bruce Ayers Democratic 0%
Steve Charles Baldwin 0%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 0%
James Battin 0%
Scott Baugh 0%
Marilyn Brewer 0%
Mike Briggs 0%
Bill Campbell 0%
Edward Clancy, Jr. 0%
MA State Senate Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo Republican 0%
Richard Dickerson 0%
Peter Frusetta 0%
Geoffrey Hall 0%
MA State House Fourth Essex Bradford Hill Republican 0%
George House, Jr. 0%
K. Maurice Johannessen 0%
Howard Kaloogian 0%
Bill Leonard 0%
Abel Maldonado 0%
Bob Margett 0%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 0%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 0%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 0%
Keith Olberg 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 0%
Tony Strickland 0%
Bruce Thompson 0%
Jim Vallee 0%
Stephen Brewer 0%
Christine Canavan 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top