Rating Group: National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action

1998 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 0%
CA U.S. House-16 Jim Costa D 0%
CA U.S. House-17 Mike Honda D 0%
CA U.S. House-29 Tony Cárdenas D 0%
CA U.S. House-53 Susan Davis D 0%
CA State Senate-18 Robert Hertzberg D 0%
CA State Senate-36 Pat Bates R 0%
CA Supervisor-1 Hilda Solis 0%
CA Supervisor-4 Dick Monteith 0%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 0%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. R 0%
MA U.S. House-8 Stephen Lynch D 0%
MA State House-Tenth Bristol William Straus D 0%
MA State House-Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera D 0%
MA State House-Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral D 0%
MA State House-Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier R 0%
MA State House-Third Essex Brian Dempsey D 0%
MA State House-Fourth Essex Bradford Hill R 0%
MA State House-Tenth Essex Robert Fennell D 0%
MA State House-Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis D 0%
MA State House-First Franklin Stephen Kulik D 0%
MA State House-Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati D 0%
MA State House-Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner D 0%
MA State House-Eleventh Hampden Benjamin Swan, Sr. D 0%
MA State House-Third Hampshire Ellen Story D 0%
MA State House-Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan D 0%
MA State House-Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman D 0%
MA State House-Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. D 0%
MA State House-Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli D 0%
MA State House-Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. R 0%
MA State House-Twenty-Sixth Middlesex Tim Toomey, Jr. D 0%
MA State House-Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry D 0%
MA State House-First Norfolk Bruce Ayers D 0%
MA State House-Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano D 0%
MA State House-Sixth Norfolk William Galvin D 0%
MA State House-Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka D 0%
MA State House-Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers D 0%
MA State House-Seventh Suffolk Gloria Fox D 0%
MA State House-Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing D 0%
MA State House-Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia D 0%
MA State House-Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia D 0%
MA State House-Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan D 0%
MA State House-Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo D 0%
MA State House-Seventh Worcester Paul Frost R 0%
MA State House-Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. D 0%
MA State Senate-First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues D 0%
MA State Senate-Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny D 0%
MA State Senate-Third Essex Thomas McGee D 0%
MA State Senate-First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr R 0%
MA State Senate-Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg D 0%
MA State Senate-Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen D 0%
MA State Senate-Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth Brian Joyce D 0%
MA State Senate-Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo R 0%
MA State Senate-First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco D 0%
MA State Senate-Plymouth and Norfolk Robert Hedlund, Jr. R 0%
MA State Senate-First Worcester Harriette Chandler D 0%
MA Mayor-At-Large Michael Cahill 0%
MA Mayor-At-Large Martin Walsh 0%
MA Council Member-At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 0%
MA Councilor-At-Large James Jajuga 0%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Steven Angelo 0%
Robert Antonioni 0%
Dion Aroner 0%
Roy Ashburn 0%
Steve Charles Baldwin 0%
Jarrett Barrios 0%
James Battin 0%
Scott Baugh 0%
Robert Bernstein 0%
Frederick Berry 0%
John Binienda, Sr. 0%
Thomas Birmingham 0%
Daniel Bosley 0%
Debra Bowen 0%
Marilyn Brewer 0%
Stephen Brewer 0%
Mike Briggs 0%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 0%
Bill Campbell 0%
Christine Canavan 0%
Gale Candaras 0%
Dennis Cardoza 0%
Paul Caron 0%
Paul Casey 0%
Evelyn Chesky 0%
Vincent Paul Ciampa 0%
Edward Clancy, Jr. 0%
Carol Cleven 0%
Edward Connolly 0%
Robert Correia 0%
Dave Cox 0%
Geraldine Creedon 0%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 0%
Brian Cresta 0%
James Cunneen 0%
Walter DeFilippi 0%
Paul Demakis 0%
Richard Dickerson 0%
Salvatore DiMasi 0%
David Donnelly 0%
Carol Donovan 0%
Denise Ducheny 0%
Martha Escutia 0%
James Fagan 0%
Christopher Fallon 0%
Susan Fargo 0%
Liz Figueroa 0%
Barry Finegold 0%
Kevin Finnegan 0%
Thomas Finneran 0%
Kevin Fitzgerald 0%
Nancy Flavin 0%
Richard Floyd 0%
David Flynn 0%
John Fresolo 0%
Peter Frusetta 0%
Martin Gallegos 0%
Barbara Gardner 0%
David Gately 0%
Ronald Gauch 0%
Thomas George 0%
Anthony Philip Giglio 0%
Guy Glodis 0%
Emile Goguen 0%
Shirley Gomes 0%
Brett Granlund 0%
William Greene, Jr. 0%
Cele Hahn 0%
Paul Haley 0%
Geoffrey Hall 0%
Robert Hargraves 0%
Lida Harkins 0%
John Hart, Jr. 0%
Robert Havern III 0%
Sally Havice 0%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Christopher Hodgkins 0%
George House, Jr. 0%
Barbara Hyland 0%
Frank Hynes 0%
Cheryl Ann Jacques 0%
K. Maurice Johannessen 0%
Howard Kaloogian 0%
Rachel Kaprielian 0%
Fred Keeley 0%
Daniel Keenan 0%
Shaun Kelly 0%
Thomas Kennedy 0%
Michael Knapik 0%
Wally Knox 0%
Brian Knuuttila 0%
Peter Koutoujian 0%
Sheila Kuehl 0%
Paul Kujawski 0%
Peter Larkin 0%
Lynne Leach 0%
Stephen LeDuc 0%
Brian Lees 0%
Ted Lempert 0%
Bill Leonard 0%
John Lepper 0%
Maryanne Lewis 0%
John Locke 0%
Michael Machado 0%
Ken Maddox 0%
David Magnani 0%
Abel Maldonado 0%
Bob Margett 0%
Francis Marini 0%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 0%
Kerry Mazzoni 0%
William McManus II 0%
Linda Melconian 0%
John Merrigan 0%
Carole Migden 0%
Richard Moore 0%
Michael Morrissey 0%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Charles Murphy 0%
Kevin Murphy 0%
Kevin Murray 0%
Mary Jeanette Murray 0%
Therese Murray 0%
William Nagle, Jr. 0%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 0%
Thomas O'Brien 0%
Jack O'Connell 0%
Eugene O'Flaherty 0%
Keith Olberg 0%
Thomas Oller 0%
Deborah Ortiz 0%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 0%
Robert Pacheco 0%
Rod Pacheco 0%
Steven Panagiotakos 0%
Louis Papan 0%
Marie Parente 0%
Anne Marie Paulsen 0%
Steve Peace 0%
Vincent Pedone 0%
Anthony Pescetti 0%
Douglas Petersen 0%
George Peterson, Jr. 0%
Richard Polanco 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Susan Pope 0%
Ruth Provost 0%
John Quinn 0%
Henri S Rauschenbach 0%
Mary Rogeness 0%
George Rogers 0%
J. Michael Ruane 0%
Jack Scott 0%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 0%
Kevin Shelley 0%
Mary Jane Simmons 0%
John Slattery 0%
Nell Soto 0%
Jo Ann Sprague 0%
Harriett Stanley 0%
John Stasik 0%
John Stefanini 0%
Darrell Steinberg 0%
Tony Strickland 0%
Virginia Strom-Martin 0%
David Sullivan 0%
Joseph Sullivan 0%
Kathleen Teahan 0%
Bruce Thompson 0%
Helen Thomson 0%
Richard Tisei 0%
Stephen Tobin 0%
Steven Tolman 0%
Robert Travaglini 0%
Philip Travis 0%
Susan Tucker 0%
Eric Turkington 0%
David Tuttle 0%
Jim Vallee 0%
Anthony Verga 0%
Antonio Villaraigosa 0%
Edward Vincent 0%
Patricia Walrath 0%
Marian Walsh 0%
Carl Washington 0%
Howard Wayne 0%
Scott Wildman 0%
Dianne Wilkerson 0%
Alice Wolf 0%
Roderick Wright 0%
Charlene Zettel 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.