or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Tax Reform

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 10%
Gary Ackerman 20%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 100%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 90%
Rodney Alexander 25%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 95%
Thomas Allen 20%
Rob Andrews 25%
Joe Baca, Sr. 10%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 95%
Brian Baird 25%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 10%
J. Gresham Barrett 95%
Roscoe Bartlett 95%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 95%
Charlie Bass 85%
Max Baucus 30%
Evan Bayh 30%
Bob Beauprez 95%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 20%
Bob Bennett 95%
Shelley Berkley 30%
Howard Berman 20%
Marion Berry 10%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 25%
Judy Biggert 95%
Michael Bilirakis 90%
Jeff Bingaman 10%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 90%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 35%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 15%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 25%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 100%
Sherwood Boehlert 95%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 100%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 85%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 95%
Mary Bono Mack 70%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Leonard Boswell 25%
Rick Boucher 20%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 30%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 35%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 10%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 15%
Henry Brown, Jr. 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 5%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Ginny Brown-Waite 95%
Jim Bunning 100%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 95%
Conrad Burns 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 90%
Dan Burton 85%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 20%
Steve Buyer 80%
Robert Byrd 10%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 90%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 95%
Chris Cannon 90%
Eric Cantor 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 30%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 15%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 15%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 25%
Dennis Cardoza 20%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Julia Carson 0%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 95%
Edward Case 20%
Mike Castle 75%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 60%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 90%
Ben Chandler III 37%
Chris Chocola 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 20%
Hillary Clinton 10%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 85%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 80%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 90%
Norm Coleman 95%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 80%
Kent Conrad 5%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 5%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 25%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 30%
Jerry Costello 5%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 95%
Robert Cramer 35%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 90%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 20%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 10%
Randall Cunningham 85%
Artur Davis 25%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 15%
James Davis 20%
Jo Ann Davis 85%
Lincoln Davis 35%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 20%
Thomas Davis III 95%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 15%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 15%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 20%
Bill Delahunt 10%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 5%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 95%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 80%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 90%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 95%
Norm Dicks 30%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 15%
Chris Dodd 10%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 25%
Elizabeth Dole 95%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 95%
John Doolittle 90%
Byron Dorgan 0%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 15%
David Dreier 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 90%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 10%
Chet Edwards 30%
Vern Ehlers 90%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 10%
Jo Ann Emerson 70%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 25%
Philip English 90%
John Ensign 90%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 25%
Bob Etheridge 25%
Lane Evans 5%
Terry Everett 85%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 15%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 10%
Tom Feeney 100%
Russ Feingold 5%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 10%
Michael Ferguson 75%
Bob Filner 10%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 95%
Mark Foley 95%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 90%
Harold Ford, Jr. 25%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 90%
Barney Frank 15%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 95%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 90%
William Frist 95%
Elton Gallegly 85%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 85%
Jim Gibbons 90%
Wayne Gilchrest 95%
Paul Gillmor 95%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 90%
Charlie Gonzalez 25%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 80%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
Bart Gordon 40%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 90%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 90%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%
Mark Green 95%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 25%
Judd Gregg 95%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 5%
Gilbert Gutknecht 95%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 90%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 5%
Jane Harman 20%
Katherine Harris 100%
Melissa Hart 95%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 5%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 95%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 95%
Robert Hayes 80%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top