or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Tax Reform

2001 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 15%
Gary Ackerman 5%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 10%
Todd Akin 95%
Wayne Allard 95%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 10%
Rob Andrews 30%
Richard Armey 100%
Joe Baca, Sr. 10%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 100%
Brian Baird 20%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Cass Ballenger 100%
James Barcia 30%
Robert Barr, Jr. 90%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 10%
Roscoe Bartlett 90%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 95%
Charlie Bass 90%
Max Baucus 15%
Evan Bayh 10%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 5%
Bob Bennett 95%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 15%
Douglas Bereuter 70%
Shelley Berkley 20%
Howard Berman 5%
Marion Berry 40%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 5%
Judy Biggert 95%
Michael Bilirakis 85%
Jeff Bingaman 5%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 40%
Rod Blagojevich 10%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 95%
Sherwood Boehlert 60%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 100%
Kit Bond 90%
Henry Bonilla 100%
David Edward Bonior 5%
Mary Bono Mack 100%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 0%
Leonard Boswell 30%
Rick Boucher 20%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 5%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 30%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 10%
John Breaux 20%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 10%
Henry Brown, Jr. 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Ed Bryant 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 85%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 90%
Dan Burton 95%
Steve Buyer 85%
Robert Byrd 10%
Herbert Callahan 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 100%
Ben Campbell 85%
Chris Cannon 100%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 5%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 15%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
Jean Carnahan 5%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 15%
Brad Carson 35%
Julia Carson 10%
Mike Castle 75%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 30%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 10%
Eva Clayton 0%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 15%
Robert Clement 35%
Hillary Clinton 5%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 15%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 90%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 80%
Michael Collins 95%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 55%
Larry Combest 100%
Gary Condit 40%
Kent Conrad 5%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 10%
John Cooksey 95%
Jon Corzine 10%
Jerry Costello 15%
Christopher Cox 95%
William Coyne 0%
Larry Craig 95%
Robert Cramer 80%
Philip Crane 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 10%
Barbara Cubin 95%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 100%
Thomas Daschle 10%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 5%
James Davis 15%
Jo Ann Davis 95%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 20%
Thomas Davis III 95%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 95%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 5%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 5%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 10%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 75%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 95%
Norm Dicks 10%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 5%
Chris Dodd 10%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 5%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 65%
Calvin Dooley 35%
John Doolittle 95%
Byron Dorgan 5%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 15%
David Dreier 90%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 85%
Jennifer Dunn 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
John Edwards 15%
Chet Edwards 20%
Vern Ehlers 80%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 90%
Jo Ann Emerson 95%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 5%
Philip English 90%
John Ensign 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 5%
Bob Etheridge 35%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 95%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 10%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Russ Feingold 20%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 20%
Michael Ferguson 80%
Bob Filner 5%
Peter Fitzgerald 85%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 95%
Ernest Fletcher 100%
Mark Foley 95%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 100%
Harold Ford, Jr. 20%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 100%
Barney Frank 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 90%
William Frist 95%
Jonas Frost III 10%
Elton Gallegly 100%
John Ganske 85%
George Gekas 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 5%
Jim Gibbons 95%
Wayne Gilchrest 85%
Paul Gillmor 80%
Benjamin Gilman 65%
Charlie Gonzalez 10%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 90%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
Bart Gordon 45%
Porter Goss 100%
Daniel Graham 5%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 90%
William Phillip Gramm 85%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 95%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 80%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 95%
Mark Green 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 20%
James Greenwood 90%
Judd Gregg 100%
Felix Grucci, Jr. 90%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 5%
Gilbert Gutknecht 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top