or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Center for Security Policy

1998-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Dan Burton 100%
Christopher Cox 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 100%
John Doolittle 100%
Robert Hayes 100%
Duncan Hunter 100%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 100%
Jon Kyl 100%
FL U.S. House 1 Jefferson Miller Republican 100%
Richard Pombo 100%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 100%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 100%
Mark Souder 100%
Cliff Stearns 100%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 100%
Cass Ballenger 96%
Roscoe Bartlett 96%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 96%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 96%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 96%
Jim Gibbons 96%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 96%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 96%
David Lee Hobson 96%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 96%
Charles Taylor 96%
David Weldon 96%
Bill Young 96%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 96%
Judd Gregg 95%
Trent Lott, Sr. 95%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 95%
Tom Tancredo 95%
Jim Bunning 94%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 92%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 92%
Henry Bonilla 92%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 92%
Michael Collins 92%
Randall Cunningham 92%
Terry Everett 92%
J. Dennis Hastert 92%
Joel Hefley 92%
Henry Hyde 92%
William Lewis Jenkins 92%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 92%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 92%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 92%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 92%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 92%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 92%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 92%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 92%
Henry Brown, Jr. 91%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 91%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 91%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 91%
Jo Ann Davis 91%
Michael Ferguson 91%
Melissa Hart 91%
Ric Keller 91%
Mark Kennedy 91%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 91%
Todd Platts 91%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 91%
Edward Schrock 91%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 90%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 90%
William Frist 90%
Mark Green 90%
Kay Hutchison 90%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 90%
Thomas Reynolds 90%
Rick Santorum 90%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 90%
George Allen 89%
Richard Hugh Baker 88%
Michael Bilirakis 88%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 88%
Barbara Cubin 88%
Thomas Davis III 88%
Thomas DeLay 88%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 88%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 88%
Elton Gallegly 88%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 88%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 88%
Joseph Knollenberg 88%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 88%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 88%
Sue Myrick 88%
Anne Northup 88%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 88%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 88%
John Shadegg 88%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 88%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 88%
William Tauzin 88%
Todd Tiahrt 88%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 86%
Wayne Allard 85%
Larry Craig 85%
James DeMint 85%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 85%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 85%
KY Commissioner of the Department of Veterans' Affairs Ken Lucas Democratic 85%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 85%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 85%
Don Nickles 85%
John Sweeney 85%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 85%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 84%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 84%
Steve Buyer 84%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 84%
Chris Cannon 84%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 84%
Jennifer Dunn 84%
Jo Ann Emerson 84%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 84%
Porter Goss 84%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 84%
Jerry Lewis 84%
Ron Lewis 84%
William Lipinski 84%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 84%
James McCrery III 84%
Scott McInnis 84%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 84%
George Nethercutt, Jr. 84%
Deborah Pryce 84%
Jim Ryun 84%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 84%
John Sununu 84%
Gene Taylor 84%
Zach Wamp 84%
W. Curtis Weldon 84%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 83%
Todd Akin 82%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 82%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 82%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 82%
Tim Johnson 82%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 82%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 82%
Denny Rehberg 82%
Mike Ross 82%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 82%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 81%
Charlie Bass 80%
Bob Bennett 80%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 80%
Conrad Burns 80%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 80%
Philip Crane 80%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 80%
David Dreier 80%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 80%
Ernest Fletcher 80%
Mark Foley 80%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 80%
John McHugh 80%
Robert William Ney 80%
John Peterson 80%
Jack Quinn 80%
George Radanovich 80%
Ralph Regula 80%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 80%
Jim Saxton 80%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 80%
Olympia Snowe 80%
Ted Stevens 80%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 80%
Gerald Weller 80%
John Ensign 78%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 78%
Heather Wilson 77%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 76%
Mary Bono Mack 76%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 76%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 76%
Paul Gillmor 76%
Gilbert Gutknecht 76%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 76%
Pete Hoekstra 76%
John Nathan Hostettler 76%
Sue Kelly 76%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 76%
William Thomas 76%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 75%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 75%
Doug Ose 75%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 75%
Arlen Specter 75%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top