or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Center for Security Policy

1998-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 36%
Gary Ackerman 44%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 92%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 35%
Todd Akin 82%
Wayne Allard 85%
George Allen 89%
Thomas Allen 28%
Rob Andrews 72%
Joe Baca, Sr. 56%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 84%
Brian Baird 25%
Richard Hugh Baker 88%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 10%
Cass Ballenger 96%
Roscoe Bartlett 96%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 96%
Charlie Bass 80%
Max Baucus 35%
Evan Bayh 50%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 12%
Bob Bennett 80%
Douglas Bereuter 64%
Shelley Berkley 65%
Howard Berman 44%
Marion Berry 56%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 20%
Judy Biggert 60%
Michael Bilirakis 88%
Jeff Bingaman 15%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 72%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 8%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 92%
Sherwood Boehlert 60%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 76%
Kit Bond 70%
Henry Bonilla 92%
Mary Bono Mack 76%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 75%
Leonard Boswell 64%
Rick Boucher 32%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 5%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 64%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 84%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 39%
John Breaux 40%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 32%
Henry Brown, Jr. 91%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 28%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 80%
Jim Bunning 94%
Conrad Burns 80%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 96%
Dan Burton 100%
Steve Buyer 84%
Robert Byrd 35%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 84%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 72%
Ben Campbell 70%
Chris Cannon 84%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 91%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 33%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 91%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 32%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 20%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 44%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 33%
Brad Carson 73%
Julia Carson 32%
Mike Castle 72%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 88%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 31%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 92%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 56%
Hillary Clinton 56%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 36%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 84%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 80%
Michael Collins 92%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
Larry Combest 72%
Kent Conrad 30%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 8%
Jon Corzine 33%
Jerry Costello 52%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 85%
Robert Cramer 68%
Philip Crane 80%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 81%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 91%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 55%
Barbara Cubin 88%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 24%
Randall Cunningham 92%
Thomas Daschle 25%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 24%
James Davis 60%
Jo Ann Davis 91%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 45%
Thomas Davis III 88%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 11%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 96%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 36%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 28%
Bill Delahunt 36%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 36%
Thomas DeLay 88%
James DeMint 85%
Peter Deutsch 72%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 90%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 100%
Norm Dicks 36%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 44%
Chris Dodd 20%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 12%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 80%
Calvin Dooley 32%
John Doolittle 100%
Byron Dorgan 20%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 44%
David Dreier 80%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 76%
Jennifer Dunn 84%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 15%
John Edwards 50%
Chet Edwards 60%
Vern Ehlers 44%
Jo Ann Emerson 84%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 68%
Philip English 64%
John Ensign 78%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 80%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 20%
Bob Etheridge 64%
Lane Evans 28%
Terry Everett 92%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 12%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 12%
Russ Feingold 25%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 25%
Michael Ferguson 91%
Bob Filner 8%
Peter Fitzgerald 69%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 73%
Ernest Fletcher 80%
Mark Foley 80%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 90%
Harold Ford, Jr. 44%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 88%
Barney Frank 40%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 88%
William Frist 90%
Jonas Frost III 60%
Elton Gallegly 88%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 76%
Jim Gibbons 96%
Wayne Gilchrest 72%
Paul Gillmor 76%
Charlie Gonzalez 48%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 84%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 80%
Bart Gordon 64%
Porter Goss 84%
Daniel Graham 40%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 88%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 75%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 82%
Mark Green 90%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 72%
James Greenwood 68%
Judd Gregg 95%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 48%
Gilbert Gutknecht 76%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 65%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 76%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 15%
Jane Harman 64%
Melissa Hart 91%
J. Dennis Hastert 92%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 24%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 88%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 85%
Robert Hayes 100%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 96%
Joel Hefley 92%
Wally Herger, Jr. 72%
Baron Hill 35%
Maurice Hinchey 16%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 32%
David Lee Hobson 96%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 35%
Pete Hoekstra 76%
Thomas Holden 64%
Ernest Hollings 65%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 27%
Darlene Hooley 32%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top