Rating Group: California Taxpayers' Association

2008 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-2 Jared Huffman D 10%
CA U.S. House-8 Paul Cook R 100%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 100%
CA U.S. House-26 Julia Brownley D 10%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 50%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 10%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 13%
CA State Senate-1 Ted Gaines R 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 5%
CA State Senate-5 Cathleen Galgiani D 86%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 15%
CA State Senate-7 Mark DeSaulnier D 5%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 13%
CA State Senate-14 Tom Berryhill R 100%
CA State Senate-15 James Beall, Jr. D 14%
CA State Senate-18 Jean Fuller R 100%
CA State Senate-20 Alex Padilla D 21%
CA State Senate-22 Kevin de Leon D 10%
CA State Senate-24 Edward Hernandez D 26%
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 25%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 42%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 77%
CA State Senate-36 Joel Anderson R 100%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 100%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 10%
CA Supervisor-1 Kevin Jeffries R 100%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 7%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 29%
CA Council Member-2 Paul Krekorian D 11%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 100%
CA Council Member-7 Felipe Fuentes D 30%
CA Council Member-9 Curren Price, Jr. D 20%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 8%
Samuel Aanestad 93%
Anthony Adams 100%
Elaine Alquist 13%
Juan Arambula 18%
Roy Ashburn 100%
Sam Blakeslee 100%
Anna Caballero 17%
Charles Calderon 17%
Amina Carter 19%
Joe Coto 15%
Dave Cox 100%
Mike Davis 6%
Hector De La Torre 14%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 33%
Robert Dutton 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 100%
Mike Eng 10%
Mike Feuer 18%
Dean Florez 13%
Warren Furutani 14%
Martin Garrick 100%
Tom Harman 100%
Mary Hayashi 14%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Christine Kehoe 7%
Fiona Ma 25%
Abel Maldonado 100%
Tony Mendoza 20%
Pedro Nava 19%
Roger Niello 100%
Jenny Oropeza 24%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 18%
Gloria Romero 15%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 18%
Mary Salas 15%
Lori Saldaña 10%
Jim Silva 100%
Cameron Smyth 100%
Jose Solorio 29%
Audra Strickland 100%
Sandré Swanson 5%
Alberto Torrico 20%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 100%
Patricia Wiggins 18%
Leland Yee 15%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.