Rating Group: California Taxpayers' Association

2004 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 100%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 100%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 100%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 10%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 100%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 9%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 45%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 18%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 20%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 18%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 0%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 9%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 36%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 9%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 55%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 100%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 20%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 9%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 9%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 100%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 100%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 10%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 45%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 100%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 100%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 20%
Samuel Aanestad 100%
Richard Ackerman 100%
Gregory Aghazarian 100%
Richard Alarcón 20%
Roy Ashburn 100%
James Battin 100%
Patty Berg 9%
Rudy Bermúdez 27%
Russell Bogh 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 45%
Edward Chavez 36%
Rebecca Cohn 27%
Lynn Daucher 100%
Denise Ducheny 30%
Joseph Dunn 10%
Mervyn Dymally 18%
Martha Escutia 10%
Liz Figueroa 20%
Dean Florez 50%
Dario Frommer 18%
Bonnie Garcia 100%
Jackie Goldberg 0%
Tom Harman 100%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Jerome Horton 45%
Shirley Horton 91%
Guy Houston 100%
Richard Keene 100%
Sheila Kuehl 0%
John Laird 9%
Jay La Suer 100%
Robert Leslie 100%
Lloyd Levine 18%
Sally Lieber 9%
Michael Machado 70%
Bob Margett 100%
Barbara Matthews 64%
Bill Maze 100%
Cindy Montañez 9%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100%
Eugene Mullin 9%
Kevin Murray 30%
Joseph Nation 18%
Fabian Núñez 9%
Jenny Oropeza 18%
Deborah Ortiz 10%
Nicole Parra 55%
Don Perata 10%
George Plescia 100%
Charles Poochigian 100%
Keith Stuart Richman 91%
Gloria Romero 10%
Sharon Runner 100%
Simón Salinas 18%
Jack Scott 20%
Nell Soto 10%
Audra Strickland 100%
Edward Vincent 40%
Leland Yee 18%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.