Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Arizona State Rifle and Pistol Association

2004 Positions

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Timothy Bee 100%
Robert Blendu 100%
Linda Gray 100%
Jack Harper 100%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal Republican 100%
Marilyn Jarrett 100%
Laura Knaperek 100%
Barbara Leff 100%
Dean Martin 100%
John Nelson 100%
AZ Corporation Commission Chairman Bob Stump Republican 100%
Thayer Verschoor 100%
AZ State House 15 John Allen Republican 92%
Mark Anderson 92%
Marsha Arzberger 92%
Ray Barnes 92%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 92%
Tom Boone 92%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 92%
Jennifer Burns 92%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns Republican 92%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 92%
Franklin Flake 92%
Pamela Gorman 92%
Ron Gould 92%
Chuck Gray 92%
Karen Johnson 92%
Russ Jones 92%
Bill Konopnicki 92%
Lucy Mason 92%
Marian Ann McClure 92%
AZ State Senate 18 John McComish Republican 92%
Nancy McLain 92%
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Murphy Republican 92%
Warde Nichols 92%
Tom O'Halleran 92%
Jonathan Paton 92%
Russell Pearce 92%
AZ State House 18 Bob Robson Republican 92%
Colette Rosati 92%
David Smith 92%
Stephen Tully 92%
AZ Vice Mayor 2 Jim Waring Republican 92%
AZ Mayor Position 4 Jerry Weiers Republican 92%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 92%
Doug Quelland 83%
Linda Aguirre 67%
Ted Carpenter 67%
Toni Hellon 67%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Gary Pierce Republican 67%
AZ State Senate 23 Michele Reagan Republican 67%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny Republican 67%
Jim Weiers 67%
AZ Secretary of State Ken Bennett Republican 58%
Robert Cannell 50%
AZ Supervisor 2 Cheryl Chase Republican 50%
Steve Huffman 42%
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 42%
Rebecca Rios 42%
Albert Tom 42%
Carolyn Allen 17%
Manny Alvarez 17%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 17%
William Brotherton 17%
Jack Brown 17%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 17%
Ben Miranda 17%
AZ State Senate 29 Steve Gallardo Democratic 8%
Amanda Aguirre 0%
Meg Burton Cahill 0%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 0%
Ken Cheuvront 0%
Ted Downing 0%
Jorge Garcia 0%
Gabrielle Giffords 0%
Pete Hershberger 0%
AZ State Senate 27 Leah Landrum Taylor Democratic 0%
Phil Lopes 0%
Linda Lopez 0%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 0%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 0%
Harry Mitchell 0%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 0%
Victor Soltero 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top