or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Mississippi Human Services Coalition

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MS State House 57 Edward Blackmon, Jr. Democratic 100%
MS State Senate 7 Hob Bryan Democratic 100%
MS State House 69 Alyce Clarke Democratic 100%
MS State House 38 Tyrone Ellis Democratic 100%
MS State Senate 27 Hillman Frazier Democratic 100%
MS State House 30 Robert Huddleston Democratic 100%
Ezell Lee 100%
MS State House 53 Robert Moak Democratic 100%
MS State House 98 David Myers Democratic 100%
MS State House 32 Willie Perkins, Sr. Democratic 100%
Bennie Turner 100%
Tom Wallace 100%
MS State House 49 Willie Bailey Democratic 90%
Billy Broomfield 90%
MS State House 65 Mary Coleman Democratic 90%
MS State House 42 Reecy Dickson Democratic 90%
MS State House 70 James Evans Democratic 90%
Clayton Henderson 90%
MS State House 85 America Middleton Democratic 90%
MS State House 27 Ferr Smith Democratic 90%
MS State House 31 Sara Thomas Democratic 90%
MS State House 103 Percy Watson Democratic 90%
Phillip West 90%
Frances Fredericks 89%
MS State House 33 Thomas Reynolds II Democratic 89%
MS State House 51 Rufus Straughter Democratic 89%
Barbara Martin Blackmon 88%
MS State House 29 Linda Coleman Democratic 88%
Scottie Cuevas 88%
Bob Dearing 88%
Vernon Delma Furniss 88%
Alice Harden 88%
MS State Senate 32 Sampson Jackson II Democratic 88%
R.L. Livingston 88%
MS State Senate 26 John Horhn Democratic 86%
Johnnie Walls, Jr. 86%
MS State House 67 Earle Banks Democratic 80%
Ricky Cummings 80%
MS State House 45 Bennett Malone Democratic 80%
Walter Robinson, Jr. 80%
Jimmy Thornton 80%
Charles Young, Sr. 80%
E. Harvey Moss 78%
Neely Carlton 75%
MS State House 94 Robert Johnson III Democratic 75%
MS State Senate 24 David Jordan Democratic 75%
MS Public Service Commissioner Lynn Posey Republican 75%
MS State Senate 13 Willie Simmons Democratic 75%
Robert Harold Smith 75%
Billy Thames 75%
MS State Senate 9 Gray Tollison Republican 75%
MS State Senate 3 Nickey Browning Republican 71%
John Robert White 71%
George Flaggs, Jr. 70%
Jack Gadd 70%
David Green 70%
MS State House 16 Steve Holland Democratic 70%
Joe Grist, Jr. 67%
MS State Senate 31 Terry Burton Republican 63%
Robert Clark, Jr. 63%
MS State Senate 50 Tommy Gollott Republican 63%
MS State House 10 H. Nolan Mettetal Republican 63%
William Bowles 60%
David Gibbs 60%
Clem Mullins Nettles 60%
Diane Peranich 60%
MS State House 61 Ray Rogers Republican 60%
Bobby Taylor 60%
Carl Gordon, Jr. 57%
Joseph Compretta 56%
Eloise Hale Scott 56%
MS Supervisor 3 Dirk Dedeaux Democratic 50%
George Dickerson 50%
MS State House 79 Blaine Eaton II Democratic 50%
Joe Hudson 50%
MS State House 62 Thomas Weathersby, Sr. Republican 50%
Jim Crawley Barnett 44%
Jamie Franks, Jr. 44%
Michael Janus 43%
Joe Ellzey 40%
Roger Ishee 40%
James Markham, Jr. 40%
Warner McBride 40%
William McCoy 40%
William Miles 40%
Robert Moody 40%
Valeria Brower Robertson 40%
Eric Robinson 40%
Clinton Rotenberry, Jr. 40%
MS State House 90 Joseph Warren Democratic 40%
Ronald David Farris 38%
Timothy Alan Ford 38%
Joseph Thomas Stogner 38%
MS State House 106 Herbert Frierson Republican 33%
MS State House 89 C. Shows Republican 33%
Lee Jarrell Davis 30%
James Ellington 30%
Frank Hamilton 30%
Tommy Horne 30%
MS State House 46 Bobby Howell Republican 30%
MS State House 7 Wanda Jennings Republican 30%
John Raymond Reeves 30%
Clayton Smith 30%
MS State House 87 Johnny Stringer Democratic 30%
Carmen Wells-Smith 30%
MS State Senate 14 Lydia Chassaniol Republican 29%
MS State Senate 30 Dean Kirby Republican 25%
Travis Little 25%
James Simpson, Jr. 22%
Charles Smith 22%
MS State House 108 Mark Formby Republican 20%
Daniel Guice, Jr. 20%
Percy Maples 20%
Thomas Mitchell 20%
Keith Norris Montgomery, Sr. 20%
MS State House 60 John Moore Republican 20%
MS State House 39 Jeffrey Smith Republican 20%
Tommy Woods 20%
Edwin Glenn Hamilton 13%
William Hewes III 13%
MS U.S. House 1 Alan Nunnelee Republican 13%
Charles Ross 13%
Vincent Scoper, Jr. 13%
Thomas Cameron III 11%
Charles Wilson Capps, Jr. 11%
Andrew Ketchings 11%
Lester Barnett, Jr. 10%
MS State House 58 Rita Martinson Republican 10%
MS State House 112 John Read Republican 10%
Mary Stevens 10%
William Ward Canon 0%
MS State House 64 William Denny, Jr. Republican 0%
Timothy Lamar Johnson 0%
William Minor 0%
T.O. Moffatt 0%
Thomas Robertson 0%
Richard White 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top