or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Mississippi Human Services Coalition

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MS State House 67 Earle Banks Democratic 100%
Barbara Martin Blackmon 100%
MS State House 42 Reecy Dickson Democratic 100%
MS State House 38 Tyrone Ellis Democratic 100%
MS State House 70 James Evans Democratic 100%
George Flaggs, Jr. 100%
MS State Senate 27 Hillman Frazier Democratic 100%
Frances Fredericks 100%
Alice Harden 100%
Clayton Henderson 100%
MS State Senate 26 John Horhn Democratic 100%
MS State Senate 24 David Jordan Democratic 100%
MS State House 53 Robert Moak Democratic 100%
Walter Robinson, Jr. 100%
MS State House 51 Rufus Straughter Democratic 100%
Billy Thames 100%
Jimmy Thornton 100%
Bennie Turner 100%
Johnnie Walls, Jr. 100%
MS State House 103 Percy Watson Democratic 100%
Billy Broomfield 86%
Scottie Cuevas 86%
Jamie Franks, Jr. 86%
Vernon Delma Furniss 86%
David Green 86%
MS State House 30 Robert Huddleston Democratic 86%
MS State Senate 32 Sampson Jackson II Democratic 86%
MS State House 32 Willie Perkins, Sr. Democratic 86%
John Robert White 86%
Ronald David Farris 83%
David Gibbs 83%
MS State House 98 David Myers Democratic 83%
MS State House 33 Thomas Reynolds II Democratic 83%
MS State Senate 13 Willie Simmons Democratic 83%
MS State House 27 Ferr Smith Democratic 83%
MS State House 94 Robert Johnson III Democratic 80%
Ezell Lee 80%
Joseph Compretta 75%
MS State House 57 Edward Blackmon, Jr. Democratic 71%
Neely Carlton 71%
MS State House 29 Linda Coleman Democratic 71%
MS State House 65 Mary Coleman Democratic 71%
Ricky Cummings 71%
Joe Ellzey 71%
Jack Gadd 71%
MS State Senate 50 Tommy Gollott Republican 71%
R.L. Livingston 71%
MS State House 45 Bennett Malone Democratic 71%
Percy Maples 71%
MS State House 85 America Middleton Democratic 71%
E. Harvey Moss 71%
Clem Mullins Nettles 71%
Diane Peranich 71%
John Raymond Reeves 71%
MS State House 89 C. Shows Republican 71%
Bobby Taylor 71%
MS State Senate 9 Gray Tollison Republican 71%
Tom Wallace 71%
MS State House 49 Willie Bailey Democratic 67%
MS State Senate 31 Terry Burton Republican 67%
MS State House 106 Herbert Frierson Republican 67%
Carl Gordon, Jr. 67%
Edwin Glenn Hamilton 67%
MS Public Service Commissioner Lynn Posey Republican 67%
Robert Harold Smith 67%
MS State House 87 Johnny Stringer Democratic 67%
Robert Clark, Jr. 60%
MS State Senate 3 Nickey Browning Republican 57%
MS State Senate 7 Hob Bryan Democratic 57%
Bob Dearing 57%
MS Supervisor 3 Dirk Dedeaux Democratic 57%
MS State House 79 Blaine Eaton II Democratic 57%
Joe Grist, Jr. 57%
MS State House 16 Steve Holland Democratic 57%
Tommy Horne 57%
Joe Hudson 57%
Joseph Thomas Stogner 57%
Charles Young, Sr. 57%
MS State House 69 Alyce Clarke Democratic 50%
Thomas Mitchell 50%
Charles Wilson Capps, Jr. 43%
MS State Senate 14 Lydia Chassaniol Republican 43%
George Dickerson 43%
Daniel Guice, Jr. 43%
William Hewes III 43%
Warner McBride 43%
William McCoy 43%
T.O. Moffatt 43%
Thomas Robertson 43%
MS State House 90 Joseph Warren Democratic 43%
MS State House 62 Thomas Weathersby, Sr. Republican 43%
MS State House 10 H. Nolan Mettetal Republican 40%
Timothy Alan Ford 33%
Frank Hamilton 33%
Michael Janus 33%
Travis Little 33%
MS U.S. House 1 Alan Nunnelee Republican 33%
MS State House 61 Ray Rogers Republican 33%
William Bowles 29%
Robert Moody 29%
Eric Robinson 29%
Clinton Rotenberry, Jr. 29%
Eloise Hale Scott 29%
MS State House 39 Jeffrey Smith Republican 29%
Mary Stevens 29%
MS State House 112 John Read Republican 20%
Lee Jarrell Davis 17%
Carmen Wells-Smith 17%
Thomas Cameron III 14%
Andrew Ketchings 14%
MS State Senate 30 Dean Kirby Republican 14%
MS State House 58 Rita Martinson Republican 14%
William Minor 14%
Valeria Brower Robertson 14%
Vincent Scoper, Jr. 14%
James Simpson, Jr. 14%
Charles Smith 14%
Tommy Woods 14%
Lester Barnett, Jr. 0%
William Ward Canon 0%
MS State House 64 William Denny, Jr. Republican 0%
James Ellington 0%
MS State House 108 Mark Formby Republican 0%
MS State House 46 Bobby Howell Republican 0%
Timothy Lamar Johnson 0%
Keith Norris Montgomery, Sr. 0%
MS State House 60 John Moore Republican 0%
Richard White 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top