Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Alaska Gun Owners of America

2002 Positions

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
AK State House 26 Bob Lynn Republican 100%
AK State House 29 Mike Chenault Republican 100%
AK State Senate B John Coghill, Jr. Republican 93%
AK State Senate F Bill Stoltze Republican 100%
AK State Senate L Lesil McGuire Republican 100%
AK State Senate M Kevin Meyer Republican 100%
Fred Dyson 100%
Bud Fate 80%
Carl Gatto 87%
John Harris 100%
Vic Kohring 100%
Scott Ogan 100%
Gene Therriault 100%
Thomas Wagoner 93%
Bruce Weyhrauch 100%
Gary Wilken 80%
Peggy Wilson 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top