or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Humane Society of the United States

1999 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Rob Andrews 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Shelley Berkley 100%
Howard Berman 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
Julia Carson 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Peter Deutsch 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 100%
Robert Franks 100%
Benjamin Gilman 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 100%
Stephen Horn 100%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Gerald Kleczka 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
Joe Lieberman 100%
William Lipinski 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
James Maloney 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Martin Meehan 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
John Moakley 100%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
William Roth, Jr. 100%
Steve Rothman 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
Christopher Shays 100%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
Bob Smith 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Ellen Tauscher 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
Ed Towns 100%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Anthony Weiner 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Bob Weygand 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
David Wu 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Thomas Allen 83%
Brian Baird 83%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 83%
Judy Biggert 83%
Brian Bilbray 83%
Rod Blagojevich 83%
Thomas Campbell 83%
Jerry Costello 83%
Norm Dicks 83%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 83%
Michael Patrick Forbes 83%
Barney Frank 83%
Sam Gejdenson 83%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 83%
James Greenwood 83%
Tony Hall 83%
Maurice Hinchey 83%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 83%
Nancy Johnson 83%
Ronald Klink 83%
Rick Lazio 83%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 83%
William Luther 83%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 83%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 83%
Jack Metcalf 83%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 83%
Constance Morella 83%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 83%
Major Owens 83%
Donald Payne 83%
David Phelps 83%
John Edward Porter 83%
James Ramstad 83%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 83%
Marge Roukema 83%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 83%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 83%
Albert Wynn 83%
Wayne Allard 75%
Richard Bryan 75%
Robert Byrd 75%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 75%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
Russ Feingold 75%
Daniel Graham 75%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 75%
James Merrill Jeffords 75%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 75%
Herb Kohl 75%
Patrick Moynihan 75%
Charles Robb 75%
Rick Santorum 75%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 66%
James Barcia 66%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 66%
Charlie Bass 66%
Sherwood Boehlert 66%
David Edward Bonior 66%
Robert Borski, Jr. 66%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 66%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 66%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 66%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 66%
Mike Castle 66%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 66%
William Clay, Sr. 66%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 66%
William Coyne 66%
Philip Crane 66%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 66%
Thomas Davis III 66%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 66%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 66%
Calvin Dooley 66%
Bob Etheridge 66%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 66%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 66%
Elton Gallegly 66%
Charlie Gonzalez 66%
Porter Goss 66%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 66%
Darlene Hooley 66%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 66%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 66%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 66%
Sue Kelly 66%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 66%
Tom Lantos 66%
James Leach 66%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 66%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 66%
Robert Matsui 66%
Karen McCarthy 66%
Michael McNulty 66%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 66%
Dennis Moore 66%
Dave Obey 66%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 66%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top