or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Humane Society of the United States

1995 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Dale Bumpers 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
Peter Deutsch 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
Robert Franks 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 100%
Elizabeth Furse 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
James Merrill Jeffords 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
James Leach 100%
William Lipinski 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 100%
Constance Morella 100%
John Olver 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Christopher Shays 100%
Bob Smith 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Esteban Edward Torres 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 75%
Gary Ackerman 75%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 75%
Rob Andrews 75%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 75%
Howard Berman 75%
Jeff Bingaman 75%
Sherwood Boehlert 75%
George Brown, Jr. 75%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 75%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 75%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 75%
William Coyne 75%
Alfonse D'Amato 75%
Thomas Davis III 75%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 75%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 75%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 75%
Bob Filner 75%
Jon David Fox 75%
Barney Frank 75%
Benjamin Gilman 75%
John Glenn 75%
Porter Goss 75%
Daniel Graham 75%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 75%
David Lee Hobson 75%
Stephen Horn 75%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 75%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 75%
Joseph Kennedy II 75%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 75%
Herb Kohl 75%
Tom Lantos 75%
Frank Lautenberg 75%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 75%
Joe Lieberman 75%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 75%
Thomas Manton 75%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 75%
Karen McCarthy 75%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 75%
Paul McHale 75%
Michael McNulty 75%
Martin Meehan 75%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 75%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 75%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 75%
Carol Moseley Braun 75%
Patrick Moynihan 75%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 75%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 75%
Major Owens 75%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 75%
Donald Payne 75%
Glenn Poshard 75%
Deborah Pryce 75%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 75%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 75%
Rick Santorum 75%
Steven Schiff 75%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 75%
David Skaggs 75%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 75%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 75%
Olympia Snowe 75%
Arlen Specter 75%
Robert Torricelli 75%
Ed Towns 75%
Bruce Vento 75%
Paul Wellstone 75%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 75%
Sidney Yates 75%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 50%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 50%
Cass Ballenger 50%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
David Edward Bonior 50%
Richard Bryan 50%
Robert Byrd 50%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 50%
Mike Castle 50%
John Chafee 50%
William Clay, Sr. 50%
Eva Clayton 50%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 50%
Kent Conrad 50%
Jerry Costello 50%
Paul Coverdell 50%
Thomas Daschle 50%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
Norm Dicks 50%
Chris Dodd 50%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 50%
Byron Dorgan 50%
Jennifer Dunn 50%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 50%
Harris Fawell 50%
Russ Feingold 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
Harold Ford, Jr. 50%
Wendell Ford 50%
William Frist 50%
Jonas Frost III 50%
Bart Gordon 50%
William Phillip Gramm 50%
Rodney Grams 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 50%
James Greenwood 50%
Judd Gregg 50%
Tony Hall 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 50%
Jesse Helms 50%
Ernest Hollings 50%
Kay Hutchison 50%
Henry Hyde 50%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 50%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 50%
Daniel Inouye 50%
William Jefferson 50%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 50%
Nancy Johnson 50%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 50%
Patrick Kennedy 50%
Bob Kerrey 50%
Dale Kildee 50%
Scott Klug 50%
Jon Kyl 50%
John LaFalce 50%
Steve LaTourette 50%
Rick Lazio 50%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 50%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 50%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 50%
Dick Lugar 50%
Connie Mack 50%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 50%
Matthew Martinez 50%
Robert Matsui 50%
Bill McCollum 50%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 50%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 50%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 50%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 50%
Jack Murtha 50%
Don Nickles 50%
John Edward Porter 50%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 50%
Charles Robb 50%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 50%
Timothy Roemer 50%
William Roth, Jr. 50%
Marge Roukema 50%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 50%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 50%
Martin Olav Sabo 50%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 50%
Paul Sarbanes 50%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 50%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top