Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Humane Society of the United States

1993-1994 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 13%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 25%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 4%
AS U.S. House Delegate Eni Faleomavaega Democratic 58%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 15%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 42%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 70%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 21%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 29%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 13%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 75%
DC U.S. House Delegate Eleanor Norton Democratic 92%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 67%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 46%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 54%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 67%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 21%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 29%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 21%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 21%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 15%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 50%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 21%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 42%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 67%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 92%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 35%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 50%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 21%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 29%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 75%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 92%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 80%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 67%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 42%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 70%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 13%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 75%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 33%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 83%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 33%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 5%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 70%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 58%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 8%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 67%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 58%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 79%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 65%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 17%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 83%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 67%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 33%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 4%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 75%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 29%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 42%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 33%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 29%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 50%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 67%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 79%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 38%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 38%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 21%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 21%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 38%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 5%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 67%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 21%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 83%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 25%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 60%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 58%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 60%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 75%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 33%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 21%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 75%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 55%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 38%
Gary Ackerman 92%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 13%
Rob Andrews 83%
Bill Archer 33%
Richard Armey 4%
Henry Scott Baesler 25%
Richard Hugh Baker 4%
Cass Ballenger 13%
James Barcia 25%
Bill Barrett 21%
Roscoe Bartlett 29%
Herbert Bateman 21%
Max Baucus 45%
Bob Bennett 15%
Douglas Bereuter 33%
Howard Berman 75%
Jeff Bingaman 50%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 21%
Sherwood Boehlert 33%
Kit Bond 15%
Henry Bonilla 4%
David Edward Bonior 83%
Robert Borski, Jr. 83%
Rick Boucher 38%
John Breaux 20%
George Brown, Jr. 75%
Richard Bryan 65%
Dale Bumpers 40%
Jim Bunning 42%
Conrad Burns 10%
Dan Burton 38%
Steve Buyer 21%
Robert Byrd 50%
Herbert Callahan 13%
Ben Campbell 60%
Mike Castle 38%
John Chafee 60%
William Clay, Sr. 83%
Eva Clayton 75%
Robert Clement 29%
Michael Collins 29%
Larry Combest 21%
Gary Condit 29%
Kent Conrad 55%
Jerry Costello 38%
Paul Coverdell 25%
Christopher Cox 25%
William Coyne 83%
Larry Craig 10%
Robert Cramer 38%
Philip Crane 8%
Randall Cunningham 0%
Alfonse D'Amato 35%
Patsy Ann Danner 38%
Thomas Daschle 25%
Thomas DeLay 0%
Peter Deutsch 96%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 54%
Jay Dickey 17%
Norm Dicks 25%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 70%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 15%
Calvin Dooley 33%
John Doolittle 17%
Byron Dorgan 55%
David Dreier 21%
Jennifer Dunn 17%
Chet Edwards 13%
Vern Ehlers 58%
Lane Evans 83%
Terry Everett 38%
Thomas Ewing 21%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 35%
Harris Fawell 58%
Victor Fazio 50%
Russ Feingold 70%
Bob Filner 75%
Thomas Foglietta 92%
Harold Ford, Jr. 50%
Wendell Ford 65%
Tillie Fowler 21%
Barney Frank 100%
Robert Franks 67%
Jonas Frost III 29%
Elizabeth Furse 100%
Elton Gallegly 46%
Sam Gejdenson 92%
George Gekas 21%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 67%
Wayne Gilchrest 54%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top