Rating Group: ConservAmerica

2009 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
NJ U.S. House-7 Leonard Lance R 103
NJ U.S. House-2 Frank LoBiondo R 103
NJ U.S. House-4 Chris Smith R 103
WA U.S. House-8 Dave Reichert R 97
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 95
FL U.S. House-27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen R 94
John McHugh 91
Olympia Snowe 90
Vern Ehlers 89
Steve LaTourette 89
MI U.S. House-10 Candice Miller R 89
Mike Castle 86
IL U.S. Senate-Jr Mark Kirk R 86
PA U.S. House-15 Charlie Dent R 83
PA U.S. House-6 Jim Gerlach R 83
TN U.S. Senate-Sr Lamar Alexander R 80
Melquiades Martinez 80
George Voinovich 80
WV U.S. House-2 Shelley Capito R 78
Tim Johnson 78
NC U.S. House-3 Walter Jones, Jr. R 78
Thaddeus McCotter 78
OH U.S. House-10 Mike Turner R 78
Judy Biggert 75
Joseph Cao 72
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 72
FL U.S. House-25 Mario Diaz-Balart R 72
NE U.S. House-1 Jeff Fortenberry R 72
AK U.S. Senate-Sr Lisa Murkowski R 70
Mary Bono Mack 69
MI U.S. House-6 Fred Upton R 69
NY U.S. House-2 Pete King R 67
PA U.S. House-18 Tim Murphy R 67
Todd Platts 67
MI U.S. House-8 Mike Rogers R 67
VA U.S. House-10 Frank Wolf R 67
Bill Young 67
FL U.S. House-16 Vern Buchanan R 61
NJ U.S. House-11 Rodney Frelinghuysen R 61
KY U.S. House-1 Ed Whitfield R 61
Bob Bennett 60
Kit Bond 60
ID U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Crapo R 60
Judd Gregg 60
Arlen Specter 60
Brian Bilbray 56
MN U.S. House-3 Erik Paulsen R 56
WI U.S. House-6 Tom Petri R 56
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam R 56
ID U.S. House-2 Mike Simpson R 56
MI U.S. House-4 Dave Camp R 50
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 50
TN U.S. Senate-Jr Robert Corker R 50
Jo Ann Emerson 50
Bob Inglis, Sr. 50
Chris Lee 50
Dick Lugar 50
FL U.S. House-8 Bill Posey R 50
ID U.S. Senate-Jr James Risch R 50
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 50
KY U.S. House-5 Hal Rogers R 50
IL U.S. House-18 Aaron Schock R 50
OH U.S. House-12 Pat Tiberi R 50
OR U.S. House-2 Greg Walden R 47
WY U.S. Senate-Jr John Barrasso R 45
Roscoe Bartlett 44
FL U.S. House-12 Gus Bilirakis R 44
Ginny Brown-Waite 44
TX U.S. House-10 Michael McCaul R 44
TX U.S. House-21 Lamar Smith R 44
NE U.S. House-2 Lee Terry R 44
VA U.S. House-1 Rob Wittman R 44
AK U.S. House-At-Large Don Young R 44
KS Governor Sam Brownback R 40
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 40
George LeMieux 40
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 40
MS U.S. Senate-Jr Roger Wicker R 40
Rodney Alexander 39
CA U.S. House-42 Ken Calvert R 39
LA U.S. House-6 Bill Cassidy R 39
KY U.S. House-2 Brett Guthrie R 39
PA U.S. House-16 Joe Pitts R 39
Denny Rehberg 39
AL U.S. House-3 Mike Rogers R 39
IL U.S. House-6 Peter Roskam R 39
Zach Wamp 39
CA U.S. House-25 Buck McKeon R 36
Steve Austria 33
Jo Bonner, Jr. 33
OK U.S. House-4 Tom Cole R 33
Elton Gallegly 33
NV U.S. Senate-Jr Dean Heller R 33
Jerry Lewis 33
OK U.S. House-3 Frank Lucas R 33
Jean Schmidt 33
PA U.S. House-9 Bill Shuster R 33
NE U.S. House-3 Adrian Smith R 33
Henry Brown, Jr. 31
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 30
Kay Hutchison 30
Jon Kyl 30
AL U.S. House-4 Robert Aderholt R 28
LA U.S. House-3 Charles Boustany, Jr. R 28
Geoff Davis 28
VA U.S. House-4 Randy Forbes R 28
IA U.S. House-3 Tom Latham R 28
CA U.S. House-31 Gary Miller R 28
TN U.S. House-1 Phil Roe R 28
FL U.S. House-17 Tom Rooney R 28
Mark Souder 28
AL U.S. House-6 Spencer Bachus R 22
TX U.S. House-6 Joe Barton R 22
TN U.S. House-7 Marsha Blackburn R 22
Steve Buyer 22
OK Governor Mary Fallin R 22
LA U.S. House-4 John Fleming, Jr. R 22
VA U.S. House-6 Bob Goodlatte R 22
TX U.S. House-4 Ralph Hall R 22
KS U.S. House-2 Lynn Jenkins R 22
MN U.S. House-2 John Kline R 22
Dan Lungren 22
Connie Mack IV 22
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 22
WA U.S. House-5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers R 22
FL U.S. House-7 John Mica R 22
CA U.S. House-22 Devin Nunes R 22
CA U.S. House-48 Dana Rohrabacher R 22
GA U.S. Senate-Jr Johnny Isakson R 20
NE U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Johanns R 20
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 20
AL U.S. Senate-Jr Jeff Sessions III R 20
LA U.S. Senate-Jr David Vitter R 20
MO U.S. Senate-Jr Roy Blunt R 17
TX U.S. House-26 Michael Burgess R 17
CA U.S. House-45 John Campbell III R 17
FL U.S. House-4 Ander Crenshaw R 17
David Dreier 17
TN U.S. House-2 John Duncan, Jr. R 17
TX U.S. House-12 Kay Granger R 17
Pete Hoekstra 17
CA U.S. House-49 Darrell Issa R 17
MO U.S. House-3 Blaine Luetkemeyer R 17
Sue Myrick 17
George Radanovich 17
WI U.S. House-1 Paul Ryan R 17
Cliff Stearns 17
PA U.S. House-5 G.T. Thompson, Jr. R 17
TX U.S. House-13 Mac Thornberry R 17
Todd Tiahrt 17
SC U.S. House-2 Joe Wilson, Sr. R 17
SC U.S. Senate-Sr Lindsey Graham R 15
MN U.S. House-6 Michele Bachmann R 14
UT U.S. House-1 Rob Bishop R 14
CO U.S. House-6 Michael Coffman R 14
J. Gresham Barrett 11
OH U.S. House-8 John Boehner R 11
AR U.S. Senate-Jr John Boozman R 11
Dan Burton 11
Eric Cantor 11
TX U.S. House-31 John Carter R 11
NC U.S. House-6 Howard Coble R 11
TX U.S. House-11 Mike Conaway R 11
TX U.S. House-7 John Culberson R 11
GA U.S. House-11 Phil Gingrey R 11
TX U.S. House-1 Louie Gohmert R 11
MO U.S. House-6 Sam Graves R 11
MS U.S. House-3 Gregg Harper R 11
TX U.S. House-3 Sam Johnson R 11
GA U.S. House-1 Jack Kingston R 11
OH U.S. House-5 Bob Latta R 11
WY U.S. House-At-Large Cynthia Lummis R 11
FL U.S. House-1 Jefferson Miller R 11
TX U.S. House-19 Randy Neugebauer R 11
CA U.S. House-39 Ed Royce R 11
IL U.S. House-15 John Shimkus R 11
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 10
TX U.S. Senate-Sr John Cornyn R 10
AZ U.S. Senate-Sr John McCain III R 10
SD U.S. Senate-Jr John Thune R 10
WA U.S. House-4 Doc Hastings R 8
Todd Akin 6
TX U.S. House-8 Kevin Brady R 6
GA U.S. House-10 Paul Broun R 6
UT U.S. House-3 Jason Chaffetz R 6
GA Governor Nathan Deal R 6
NC U.S. House-5 Virginia Foxx R 6
AZ U.S. House-8 Trent Franks R 6
NJ U.S. House-5 Scott Garrett R 6
TX U.S. House-5 Jeb Hensarling R 6
Wally Herger, Jr. 6
CA U.S. House-50 Duncan Hunter R 6
OH U.S. House-4 Jim Jordan R 6
IA U.S. House-4 Steve King R 6
CO U.S. House-5 Doug Lamborn R 6
John Linder 6
Don Manzullo 6
TX U.S. House-24 Kenny Marchant R 6
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 6
NC U.S. House-10 Patrick McHenry R 6
KS U.S. Senate-Jr Jerry Moran R 6
TX U.S. House-22 Pete Olson R 6
TX U.S. House-2 Ted Poe R 6
GA U.S. House-6 Tom Price R 6
LA U.S. House-1 Steve Scalise R 6
WI U.S. House-5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. R 6
TX U.S. House-32 Pete Sessions R 6
John Shadegg 6
John Sullivan 6
GA U.S. House-3 Lynn Westmoreland R 6
AZ U.S. Senate-Jr Jeff Flake R 3
IN Governor Mike Pence R 3
Jim Bunning 0
GA U.S. Senate-Sr Saxby Chambliss R 0
John Ensign 0
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 0
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 0
Ron Paul 0
OK U.S. Senate-Jr Thomas Coburn R -5
James DeMint -5

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.