Rating Group: Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

2005 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office Name Party Rating
IA State House-3 Daniel Huseman R 13%
IA State House-4 Dwayne Alons R 0%
IA State House-5 Chuck Soderberg R 13%
IA State House-8 Henry Rayhons R 13%
IA State House-9 Helen Miller D 100%
IA State House-19 Ralph Watts R 13%
IA State House-20 Clel Baudler R 13%
IA State House-21 Jack Drake R 25%
IA State House-24 Cecil Dolecheck R 13%
IA State House-31 Rick Olson D 88%
IA State House-34 Bruce Hunter D 100%
IA State House-41 Jo Oldson D 100%
IA State House-45 Beth Wessel-Kroeschell D 100%
IA State House-46 Lisa Heddens D 100%
IA State House-54 Linda Upmeyer R 13%
IA State House-55 Roger Thomas D 63%
IA State House-59 Bob Kressig D 100%
IA State House-62 Deborah Berry D 100%
IA State House-67 Kraig Paulsen R 13%
IA State House-70 Todd Taylor D 88%
IA State House-71 Mark Smith D 100%
IA State House-74 Dave Jacoby D 100%
IA State House-75 Dawn Pettengill R 100%
IA State House-81 Mary Gaskill D 100%
IA State House-84 David Heaton R 13%
IA State House-85 Vicki Lensing D 100%
IA State House-86 Mary Mascher D 100%
IA State House-87 Dennis Cohoon D 63%
IA State House-88 Tom Sands R 13%
IA State House-89 Jim Lykam D 75%
IA State House-90 Cindy Winckler D 88%
IA State House-92 Frank Wood D 100%
IA State House-97 Steven Olson R 13%
IA State House-99 Pat Murphy D 100%
IA State Senate-1 David Johnson R 0%
IA State Senate-5 Daryl Beall D 100%
IA State Senate-8 Michael Gronstal D 100%
IA State Senate-9 Nancy Boettger R 0%
IA State Senate-11 Hubert Houser R 0%
IA State Senate-15 Dennis Black D 100%
IA State Senate-16 Dick Dearden D 100%
IA State Senate-17 Jack Hatch D 100%
IA State Senate-18 Janet Petersen D 88%
IA State Senate-20 Brad Zaun R 0%
IA State Senate-21 Matthew McCoy D 100%
IA State Senate-23 Herman Quirmbach D 100%
IA State Senate-24 Jerry Behn R 0%
IA State Senate-25 Bill Dix R 13%
IA State Senate-27 Amanda Ragan D 100%
IA State Senate-30 Jeff Danielson D 100%
IA State Senate-31 Bill Dotzler, Jr. D 100%
IA State Senate-32 Brian Schoenjahn D 100%
IA State Senate-33 Robert Hogg D 100%
IA State Senate-35 Wally Horn D 100%
IA State Senate-37 Robert Dvorsky D 100%
IA State Senate-39 Sandy Greiner R 13%
IA State Senate-43 Joe Bolkcom D 100%
IA State Senate-44 Thomas Courtney D 100%
IA State Senate-45 Joe Seng D 100%
IA State Senate-50 Pam Jochum D 88%
IA Director of the Department of Natural Resources Charles Gipp R 13%
IA Supervisor-At-Large Doug Shull R 0%
Richard Anderson 25%
Jeff Angelo 0%
Rich Arnold 13%
Paul Bell 63%
Carmine Boal 13%
Robert John Brunkhorst 0%
Polly Bukta 100%
Danny Carroll 13%
Royd Chambers 13%
Michael Connolly 100%
Swati Dandekar 63%
Mark Davitt 100%
Betty De Boef 13%
George Eichhorn 13%
Jeffrey Elgin 13%
Ed Fallon, Jr. 100%
Romaine Foege 100%
Wayne Ford 100%
Eugene Fraise 100%
Mary Lou Freeman 13%
Marcella Frevert 100%
E. Thurman Gaskill 0%
Polly Granzow 25%
Jim Hahn 0%
Tom Hancock 100%
Clarence Hoffman 0%
Lance Horbach 13%
Geri Huser 50%
Joe Hutter 13%
Stewart Iverson, Jr. 0%
Libby Jacobs 13%
G. Willard Jenkins 25%
Gerald Jones 13%
Jeff Kaufmann 13%
Steve Kettering 0%
John Kibbie 100%
Keith Kreiman 100%
Mark Kuhn 100%
James Kurtenbach 0%
David Lalk 13%
Jeffrey Lamberti 0%
Charles Larson, Jr. 0%
Steven Lukan 13%
Mary Lundby 100%
O. Gene Maddox 13%
Mike May 13%
Kevin McCarthy 50%
Larry McKibben 0%
Paul McKinley 0%
Dolores Mertz 50%
David Miller 0%
Dave Mulder 0%
Donovan Olson 100%
John Putney 0%
Brian Quirk 38%
Scott Raecker 13%
Christopher Rants 13%
Daniel Rasmussen 13%
Michael Reasoner 63%
Nathan Reichert 100%
Thomas Rielly 100%
Rod Roberts 13%
Bill Schickel 13%
Thomas Schueller 88%
James Seymour 0%
Paul Shomshor, Jr. 88%
Donald Shoultz 100%
Roger Stewart 100%
Doug Struyk 13%
Kurt Swaim 75%
Rich Taylor 100%
Margaret Tinsman 0%
Dave Tjepkes 13%
Walt Tomenga 13%
Jodi Tymeson 13%
James Van Engelenhoven 0%
James Van Fossen 13%
Jim Van Fossen 13%
Pat Ward 0%
Steven Warnstadt 100%
Roger Wendt 100%
John Whitaker 88%
Wesley Whitead 100%
Ron Wieck 0%
Paul Wilderdyke 0%
Philip Wise 63%
Mark Zieman 0%
Ray Zirkelbach 88%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.