or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

2004 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
IA State House 4 Dwayne Alons Republican 10%
Jeff Angelo 10%
Rich Arnold 10%
IA State House 20 Clel Baudler Republican 10%
IA State Senate 5 Daryl Beall Democratic 90%
IA State Senate 24 Jerry Behn Republican 10%
Paul Bell 100%
IA State House 62 Deborah Berry Democratic 100%
IA State Senate 15 Dennis Black Democratic 90%
Carmine Boal 10%
IA State Senate 9 Nancy Boettger Republican 10%
IA State Senate 43 Joe Bolkcom Democratic 80%
Robert John Brunkhorst 10%
Polly Bukta 100%
Danny Carroll 10%
Royd Chambers 10%
IA State House 87 Dennis Cohoon Democratic 100%
Michael Connolly 90%
IA State Senate 44 Thomas Courtney Democratic 100%
Swati Dandekar 80%
Mark Davitt 100%
IA State Senate 16 Dick Dearden Democratic 100%
Betty De Boef 10%
IA State Senate 25 Bill Dix Republican 10%
IA State House 24 Cecil Dolecheck Republican 20%
IA State Senate 31 Bill Dotzler, Jr. Democratic 90%
IA State House 21 Jack Drake Republican 10%
IA State Senate 37 Robert Dvorsky Democratic 100%
George Eichhorn 10%
Jeffrey Elgin 10%
Ed Fallon, Jr. 100%
Romaine Foege 100%
Wayne Ford 100%
Eugene Fraise 90%
Mary Lou Freeman 10%
Marcella Frevert 100%
E. Thurman Gaskill 10%
IA State House 81 Mary Gaskill Democratic 100%
IA Director of the Department of Natural Resources Charles Gipp Republican 10%
Polly Granzow 20%
IA State Senate 39 Sandy Greiner Republican 10%
IA State Senate 8 Michael Gronstal Democratic 100%
IA State Senate 17 Jack Hatch Democratic 100%
IA State House 84 David Heaton Republican 20%
IA State House 46 Lisa Heddens Democratic 100%
Clarence Hoffman 10%
IA State Senate 33 Robert Hogg Democratic 80%
Lance Horbach 10%
IA State Senate 35 Wally Horn Democratic 90%
IA State Senate 11 Hubert Houser Republican 10%
IA State House 34 Bruce Hunter Democratic 100%
IA State House 3 Daniel Huseman Republican 10%
Geri Huser 90%
Joe Hutter 20%
Stewart Iverson, Jr. 10%
Libby Jacobs 10%
IA State House 74 Dave Jacoby Democratic 100%
G. Willard Jenkins 20%
IA State Senate 50 Pam Jochum Democratic 90%
IA State Senate 1 David Johnson Republican 10%
Gerald Jones 10%
Steve Kettering 20%
John Kibbie 90%
Keith Kreiman 100%
Mark Kuhn 100%
James Kurtenbach 10%
David Lalk 10%
Jeffrey Lamberti 10%
IA State House 85 Vicki Lensing Democratic 100%
Steven Lukan 10%
Mary Lundby 30%
IA State House 89 Jim Lykam Democratic 90%
O. Gene Maddox 10%
IA State House 86 Mary Mascher Democratic 100%
Kevin McCarthy 90%
IA State Senate 21 Matthew McCoy Democratic 90%
Larry McKibben 10%
Paul McKinley 10%
Dolores Mertz 70%
David Miller 10%
IA State House 9 Helen Miller Democratic 100%
IA State House 99 Pat Murphy Democratic 90%
IA State House 41 Jo Oldson Democratic 100%
Donovan Olson 100%
IA State House 97 Steven Olson Republican 10%
IA State House 67 Kraig Paulsen Republican 20%
IA State Senate 18 Janet Petersen Democratic 100%
John Putney 10%
Brian Quirk 70%
IA State Senate 23 Herman Quirmbach Democratic 100%
Scott Raecker 10%
IA State Senate 27 Amanda Ragan Democratic 100%
Christopher Rants 10%
Daniel Rasmussen 10%
IA State House 8 Henry Rayhons Republican 10%
Michael Reasoner 80%
Rod Roberts 20%
IA State House 88 Tom Sands Republican 10%
Bill Schickel 10%
IA State Senate 45 Joe Seng Democratic 70%
James Seymour 10%
Paul Shomshor, Jr. 100%
Donald Shoultz 90%
IA Supervisor At-Large Doug Shull Republican 10%
IA State House 71 Mark Smith Democratic 100%
Roger Stewart 90%
Doug Struyk 50%
Kurt Swaim 90%
Rich Taylor 80%
IA State House 70 Todd Taylor Democratic 90%
IA State House 55 Roger Thomas Democratic 70%
Margaret Tinsman 30%
Dave Tjepkes 20%
Jodi Tymeson 10%
IA State House 54 Linda Upmeyer Republican 10%
James Van Engelenhoven 10%
James Van Fossen 10%
Jim Van Fossen 10%
Pat Ward 10%
Steven Warnstadt 90%
IA State House 19 Ralph Watts Republican 10%
Roger Wendt 100%
John Whitaker 100%
Wesley Whitead 100%
Ron Wieck 10%
Paul Wilderdyke 10%
IA State House 90 Cindy Winckler Democratic 100%
Philip Wise 90%
Mark Zieman 10%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top