Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2012 Positions on Constitutional Government

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Paula Aboud 14%
Ben Arredondo 14%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ruben Gallego Democratic 14%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 14%
Leah Landrum Taylor 14%
Linda Lopez 14%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 14%
David Schapira 14%
AZ State House 24 Lela Alston Democratic 7%
AZ State House 3 Sally Ann Gonzales Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 24 Katie Hobbs Democratic 7%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 7%
AZ State Senate 29 Martin Quezada Democratic 7%
Ed Ableser 21%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 21%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 21%
Tom Chabin 21%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 21%
Steve Gallardo 21%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 21%
Matthew Heinz 21%
David Lujan 21%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 21%
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 21%
Daniel Patterson 21%
AZ State House 3 Macario Saldate IV Democratic 21%
Anna Tovar 21%
AZ State House 10 Bruce Wheeler Democratic 21%
AZ State House 28 Eric Meyer Democratic 36%
Russ Jones 50%
AZ State House 28 Kate McGee Republican 57%
Nancy McLain 57%
Amanda Reeve 57%
Frank Antenori 64%
AZ State House 15 Heather Carter Republican 64%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 64%
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 64%
AZ State House 1 Karen Fann Republican 64%
Linda Gray 64%
Jerry Lewis 64%
John McComish 64%
John Nelson 64%
AZ State Senate 1 Steve Pierce Republican 64%
AZ State House 8 Frank Pratt Republican 64%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 64%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 64%
Jim Weiers 64%
AZ State Senate 20 Kimberly Yee Republican 64%
Cecil Ash 71%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 71%
AZ State House 6 Brenda Barton Republican 71%
Steve Court 71%
Chester Crandell 71%
AZ State Senate 18 Jeff Dial Republican 71%
Doris Goodale 71%
AZ State House 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 71%
Peggy Judd 71%
Lori Klein 71%
AZ State Senate 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 71%
Al Melvin 71%
AZ State House 17 Javan Mesnard Republican 71%
Terri Proud 71%
AZ State House 18 Bob Robson Republican 71%
AZ State Senate 13 Don Shooter Republican 71%
AZ State House 14 David Stevens Republican 71%
Steve Urie 71%
Ted Vogt 71%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 71%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 71%
AZ State House 21 Rick Gray Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 14 Gail Griffin Republican 79%
Jack Harper 79%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 79%
AZ State House 23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 86%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 86%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 86%
John Fillmore 86%
Thomas Forese 86%
Ron Gould 86%
AZ State House 22 Phil Lovas Republican 86%
AZ State House 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 86%
Rick Murphy 86%
AZ State House 25 Justin Olson Republican 86%
Justin Pierce 86%
Carl Seel 86%
David Smith 86%
AZ State Senate 11 Steve Smith Republican 86%
Vic Williams 86%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top