Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2012 Positions on Education

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House-7 Ruben Gallego D 71%
AZ State House-1 Karen Fann R 93%
AZ State House-3 Sally Ann Gonzales D 86%
AZ State House-3 Macario Saldate IV D 71%
AZ State House-6 Brenda Barton R 93%
AZ State House-7 Albert Hale D 79%
AZ State House-8 Frank Pratt R 93%
AZ State House-10 Bruce Wheeler D 86%
AZ State House-12 Eddie Farnsworth R 71%
AZ State House-13 Steve Montenegro R 93%
AZ State House-14 David Gowan, Sr. R 93%
AZ State House-14 David Stevens R 93%
AZ State House-15 Heather Carter R 93%
AZ State House-17 Javan Mesnard R 93%
AZ State House-18 Bob Robson R 93%
AZ State House-21 Rick Gray R 93%
AZ State House-22 Phil Lovas R 93%
AZ State House-23 Michelle Ugenti-Rita R 86%
AZ State House-24 Lela Alston D 86%
AZ State House-25 Justin Olson R 93%
AZ State House-28 Kate McGee R 93%
AZ State House-28 Eric Meyer D 86%
AZ State House-30 Debbie McCune Davis D 86%
AZ State Senate-1 Steve Pierce R 100%
AZ State Senate-3 Olivia Cajero Bedford D 79%
AZ State Senate-4 Lynne Pancrazi D 79%
AZ State Senate-6 Sylvia Allen R 93%
AZ State Senate-9 Steve Farley D 86%
AZ State Senate-11 Steve Smith R 93%
AZ State Senate-12 Andy Biggs R 71%
AZ State Senate-13 Don Shooter R 100%
AZ State Senate-14 Gail Griffin R 93%
AZ State Senate-15 Nancy Barto R 93%
AZ State Senate-17 Steven Yarbrough R 100%
AZ State Senate-18 Jeff Dial R 93%
AZ State Senate-20 Kimberly Yee R 93%
AZ State Senate-21 Debbie Lesko R 93%
AZ State Senate-22 Judy Burges R 93%
AZ State Senate-23 John Kavanagh R 93%
AZ State Senate-24 Katie Hobbs D 86%
AZ State Senate-27 Catherine Miranda D 64%
AZ State Senate-28 Adam Driggs R 93%
AZ State Senate-29 Martin Quezada D 50%
AZ State Senate-30 Robert Meza D 79%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan R 93%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall N/A 93%
Ed Ableser 71%
Paula Aboud 71%
Frank Antenori 93%
Ben Arredondo 71%
Cecil Ash 93%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 86%
Tom Chabin 86%
Steve Court 93%
Chester Crandell 93%
John Fillmore 64%
Thomas Forese 93%
Steve Gallardo 79%
Doris Goodale 93%
Ron Gould 79%
Linda Gray 100%
Jack Harper 93%
Matthew Heinz 86%
Jack Jackson, Jr. 86%
Russ Jones 93%
Peggy Judd 93%
Lori Klein 93%
Leah Landrum Taylor 86%
Jerry Lewis 93%
Linda Lopez 71%
David Lujan 79%
John McComish 93%
Nancy McLain 93%
Al Melvin 100%
Rick Murphy 93%
John Nelson 93%
Daniel Patterson 86%
Justin Pierce 93%
Terri Proud 93%
Amanda Reeve 93%
David Schapira 86%
Carl Seel 93%
David Smith 71%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 93%
Anna Tovar 71%
Steve Urie 93%
Ted Vogt 93%
Jim Weiers 93%
Jerry Weiers 93%
Vic Williams 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.