Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2008 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 38%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 35%
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 80%
AZ State House 18 Bob Robson Republican 38%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 37%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 29%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 35%
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 34%
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 34%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 38%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 82%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 46%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 49%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 73%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 36%
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 47%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 42%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 32%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 54%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny No Party Affiliation 41%
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 35%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 53%
Ed Ableser 39%
Paula Aboud 40%
Kirk Adams 53%
Amanda Aguirre 37%
Carolyn Allen 47%
Manny Alvarez 42%
Mark Anderson 50%
Marsha Arzberger 40%
Ray Barnes 42%
Timothy Bee 38%
Robert Blendu 49%
Tom Boone 39%
Jack Brown 38%
Jennifer Burns 39%
Robert Burns 54%
Meg Burton Cahill 38%
Chad Campbell 32%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 35%
Tom Chabin 38%
Ken Cheuvront 41%
Doug Clark 59%
Sam Crump 57%
Mark DeSimone 36%
Steve Gallardo 34%
Jorge Garcia 34%
Martha Garcia 32%
Pamela Gorman 59%
Ron Gould 82%
Chuck Gray 57%
Linda Gray 38%
Trish Groe 77%
Jack Harper 68%
Pete Hershberger 35%
John Huppenthal 41%
Karen Johnson 54%
Bill Konopnicki 42%
Leah Landrum Taylor 41%
Barbara Leff 44%
Phil Lopes 31%
Linda Lopez 36%
David Lujan 36%
Lucy Mason 43%
Marian Ann McClure 38%
John McComish 35%
Nancy McLain 54%
Rick Murphy 53%
John Nelson 43%
Warde Nichols 58%
Tom O'Halleran 43%
Jonathan Paton 43%
Russell Pearce 80%
Charlene Pesquiera 37%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 34%
David Schapira 35%
Victor Soltero 47%
Bob Stump 42%
Jackie Thrasher 35%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 38%
Albert Tom 41%
Theresa Ulmer 32%
Thayer Verschoor 59%
Jim Weiers 41%
Jerry Weiers 49%
Nancy Young Wright 34%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top