Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2010 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Ron Gould 76%
Jack Harper 71%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 70%
Russell Pearce 67%
Sylvia Allen 64%
David Braswell 64%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 64%
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Murphy Republican 60%
AZ State House 20 Carl Seel Republican 60%
Ted Vogt 59%
AZ State Senate 1 Steve Pierce Republican 58%
Chuck Gray 57%
AZ State House 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 57%
AZ State House 23 John Kavanagh Republican 54%
Lucy Mason 52%
Vic Williams 51%
Laurin Hendrix 50%
AZ State House 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 49%
Thayer Verschoor 49%
AZ State House 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 48%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal Republican 48%
Amanda Reeve 46%
AZ State House 14 David Stevens Republican 46%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 45%
Tom Boone 45%
Jim Weiers 45%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 45%
Cecil Ash 44%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns Republican 43%
Steve Court 43%
Doug Quelland 43%
AZ Mayor Position 4 Jerry Weiers Republican 43%
Frank Antenori 42%
Rich Crandall 42%
Jorge Garcia 42%
Bill Konopnicki 42%
Kirk Adams 41%
AZ State Senate 18 John McComish Republican 41%
Amanda Aguirre 40%
Ed Bunch 40%
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 40%
Russ Jones 40%
AZ State Senate 11 Al Melvin Republican 40%
John Nelson 40%
AZ State House 8 Frank Pratt Republican 40%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny Republican 40%
Ray Barnes 39%
Linda Gray 39%
Barbara Leff 39%
Nancy McLain 38%
AZ State House 5 Doris Goodale Republican 37%
Warde Nichols 37%
AZ State Senate 23 Michele Reagan Republican 37%
Rebecca Rios 37%
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 36%
AZ State House 1 Andy Tobin, Sr. Republican 36%
Carolyn Allen 35%
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 35%
Manny Alvarez 34%
Linda Lopez 34%
Matthew Heinz 33%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 32%
Ken Cheuvront 31%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 31%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 31%
Jack Brown 30%
Meg Burton Cahill 30%
Chris Deschene 30%
David Lujan 30%
AZ State Senate 26 Ed Ableser Democratic 29%
Nancy Young Wright 29%
AZ State House 24 Chad Campbell Democratic 28%
AZ State Senate 27 Leah Landrum Taylor Democratic 28%
Phil Lopes 28%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 28%
Ben Miranda 28%
Daniel Patterson 28%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 28%
Tom Chabin 27%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 27%
AZ State House 28 Eric Meyer Democratic 27%
Rae Waters 27%
Pat Fleming 26%
Paula Aboud 25%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 25%
Martha Garcia 25%
David Schapira 25%
AZ State Senate 19 Anna Tovar Democratic 25%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 23%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top