Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2010 Constitutional Government Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ State Senate 26 Ed Ableser Democratic 28%
Paula Aboud 34%
Kirk Adams 68%
Amanda Aguirre 48%
Carolyn Allen 53%
Sylvia Allen 84%
Manny Alvarez 44%
Frank Antenori 73%
Cecil Ash 67%
Ray Barnes 65%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 72%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 80%
Tom Boone 63%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 28%
David Braswell 79%
Jack Brown 37%
Ed Bunch 69%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 78%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns Republican 74%
Meg Burton Cahill 31%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 27%
AZ State House 24 Chad Campbell Democratic 41%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 31%
Tom Chabin 32%
Ken Cheuvront 39%
Steve Court 69%
Rich Crandall 65%
Chris Deschene 35%
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 26%
Pat Fleming 28%
Jorge Garcia 38%
Martha Garcia 30%
AZ State House 5 Doris Goodale Republican 65%
Ron Gould 85%
AZ State House 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 67%
Chuck Gray 80%
Linda Gray 70%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 39%
Jack Harper 84%
Matthew Heinz 42%
Laurin Hendrix 77%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal Republican 70%
Russ Jones 61%
AZ State House 23 John Kavanagh Republican 73%
Bill Konopnicki 59%
AZ State Senate 27 Leah Landrum Taylor Democratic 42%
Barbara Leff 76%
AZ State House 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 75%
Phil Lopes 29%
Linda Lopez 36%
David Lujan 30%
Lucy Mason 61%
AZ State Senate 18 John McComish Republican 67%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 29%
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 46%
Nancy McLain 68%
AZ State Senate 11 Al Melvin Republican 70%
AZ State House 28 Eric Meyer Democratic 38%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 33%
Ben Miranda 29%
AZ State House 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 80%
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Murphy Republican 70%
John Nelson 61%
Warde Nichols 67%
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 35%
Daniel Patterson 34%
Russell Pearce 84%
AZ State Senate 1 Steve Pierce Republican 75%
AZ State House 8 Frank Pratt Republican 64%
Doug Quelland 70%
AZ State Senate 23 Michele Reagan Republican 66%
Amanda Reeve 66%
Rebecca Rios 42%
David Schapira 30%
AZ State House 20 Carl Seel Republican 87%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 34%
AZ State House 14 David Stevens Republican 63%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny Republican 61%
AZ State House 1 Andy Tobin, Sr. Republican 67%
AZ State Senate 19 Anna Tovar Democratic 27%
Thayer Verschoor 79%
Ted Vogt 67%
Rae Waters 38%
Jim Weiers 73%
AZ Mayor Position 4 Jerry Weiers Republican 73%
Vic Williams 65%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 65%
Nancy Young Wright 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top