Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2010 Education Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House-9 Kyrsten Sinema D 54%
AZ State House-1 Andy Tobin, Sr. R 96%
AZ State House-5 Doris Goodale R 93%
AZ State House-7 Albert Hale D 50%
AZ State House-8 Frank Pratt R 93%
AZ State House-13 Steve Montenegro R 85%
AZ State House-14 David Gowan, Sr. R 91%
AZ State House-14 David Stevens R 94%
AZ State House-20 Carl Seel R 85%
AZ State House-21 Debbie Lesko R 100%
AZ State House-23 John Kavanagh R 96%
AZ State House-24 Chad Campbell D 56%
AZ State House-28 Eric Meyer D 65%
AZ State House-30 Debbie McCune Davis D 48%
AZ State Senate-1 Steve Pierce R 96%
AZ State Senate-3 Olivia Cajero Bedford D 48%
AZ State Senate-4 Lynne Pancrazi D 52%
AZ State Senate-8 Barbara McGuire D 67%
AZ State Senate-9 Steve Farley D 56%
AZ State Senate-10 Dave Bradley D 57%
AZ State Senate-11 Melvin R 96%
AZ State Senate-12 Andy Biggs R 78%
AZ State Senate-15 Nancy Barto R 93%
AZ State Senate-17 Steven Yarbrough R 96%
AZ State Senate-18 John McComish R 96%
AZ State Senate-19 Anna Tovar D 59%
AZ State Senate-21 Rick Murphy R 83%
AZ State Senate-22 Judy Burges R 81%
AZ State Senate-23 Michele Reagan R 93%
AZ State Senate-26 Ed Ableser D 57%
AZ State Senate-27 Leah Landrum Taylor D 65%
AZ State Senate-28 Adam Driggs R 96%
AZ State Senate-30 Robert Meza D 61%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns R 92%
AZ Mayor-Position 4 Jerry Weiers R 85%
AZ Mayor-At-Large Jay Tibshraeny R 90%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal R 94%
Paula Aboud 50%
Kirk Adams 100%
Amanda Aguirre 71%
Carolyn Allen 71%
Sylvia Allen 96%
Manny Alvarez 62%
Frank Antenori 96%
Cecil Ash 96%
Ray Barnes 94%
Tom Boone 81%
David Braswell 96%
Jack Brown 59%
Ed Bunch 96%
Meg Burton Cahill 46%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 54%
Tom Chabin 43%
Ken Cheuvront 65%
Steve Court 96%
Rich Crandall 93%
Chris Deschene 52%
Pat Fleming 56%
Jorge Garcia 58%
Martha Garcia 52%
Ron Gould 100%
Chuck Gray 92%
Linda Gray 96%
Jack Harper 96%
Matthew Heinz 63%
Laurin Hendrix 85%
Russ Jones 91%
Bill Konopnicki 96%
Barbara Leff 90%
Phil Lopes 54%
Linda Lopez 52%
David Lujan 59%
Lucy Mason 83%
Nancy McLain 93%
Ben Miranda 57%
John Nelson 92%
Warde Nichols 94%
Daniel Patterson 52%
Russell Pearce 100%
Doug Quelland 87%
Amanda Reeve 100%
Rebecca Rios 60%
David Schapira 63%
Thayer Verschoor 100%
Ted Vogt 96%
Rae Waters 65%
Jim Weiers 89%
Vic Williams 91%
Nancy Young Wright 57%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.