Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Tax and Budget Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 24%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 22%
AZ State House 8 Frank Pratt Republican 63%
AZ State House 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 81%
AZ State House 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 67%
AZ State House 14 David Stevens Republican 67%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 19%
AZ State House 28 Eric Meyer Democratic 25%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 33%
AZ State Senate 1 Steve Pierce Republican 67%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 29%
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 24%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 81%
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 24%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 20%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 23%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 83%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 73%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 65%
AZ State Senate 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 71%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 79%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 81%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 27%
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 69%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 29%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 60%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 55%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny No Party Affiliation 51%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 75%
Ed Ableser 24%
Paula Aboud 26%
Kirk Adams 71%
Amanda Aguirre 28%
Carolyn Allen 53%
Manny Alvarez 22%
Frank Antenori 65%
Cecil Ash 67%
Ray Barnes 65%
Tom Boone 67%
Jack Brown 18%
Robert Burns 72%
Meg Burton Cahill 18%
Chad Campbell 19%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 31%
Tom Chabin 21%
Ken Cheuvront 40%
Steve Court 67%
Sam Crump 79%
Chris Deschene 30%
Pat Fleming 23%
Maria Garcia 17%
Martha Garcia 26%
Doris Goodale 66%
Pamela Gorman 86%
Ron Gould 81%
Chuck Gray 86%
Linda Gray 65%
Jack Harper 72%
Matthew Heinz 34%
Laurin Hendrix 73%
John Huppenthal 74%
Russ Jones 54%
Bill Konopnicki 47%
Leah Landrum Taylor 24%
Barbara Leff 64%
Phil Lopes 20%
Linda Lopez 19%
David Lujan 22%
Lucy Mason 60%
John McComish 63%
Nancy McLain 69%
Al Melvin 61%
Rick Murphy 77%
John Nelson 67%
Warde Nichols 64%
Jonathan Paton 67%
Daniel Patterson 19%
Russell Pearce 92%
Doug Quelland 53%
David Schapira 20%
Carl Seel 79%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 63%
Anna Tovar 24%
Thayer Verschoor 69%
Rae Waters 24%
Jim Weiers 71%
Jerry Weiers 76%
Vic Williams 48%
Nancy Young Wright 27%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top