Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Ron Gould 83%
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 75%
Jack Harper 69%
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 67%
Russell Pearce 67%
Pamela Gorman 64%
Chuck Gray 64%
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 64%
Lucy Mason 62%
Rick Murphy 62%
AZ State Senate 6 Sylvia Allen Republican 61%
Carl Seel 60%
Laurin Hendrix 57%
AZ State House 13 Steve Montenegro Republican 57%
Ray Barnes 56%
Tom Boone 55%
Steve Court 55%
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 55%
AZ State Senate 21 Debbie Lesko Republican 55%
Jim Weiers 55%
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 54%
Warde Nichols 54%
Frank Antenori 52%
Cecil Ash 52%
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 52%
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 52%
AZ State House 14 David Stevens Republican 52%
Jerry Weiers 52%
Vic Williams 52%
Linda Gray 51%
Doug Quelland 51%
Kirk Adams 50%
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 50%
Robert Burns 50%
Sam Crump 50%
Doris Goodale 50%
AZ State House 14 David Gowan, Sr. Republican 50%
Russ Jones 50%
John McComish 50%
AZ State House 8 Frank Pratt Republican 50%
Thayer Verschoor 50%
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 50%
Nancy McLain 48%
Andy Tobin, Sr. 48%
Carolyn Allen 47%
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny No Party Affiliation 47%
Ken Cheuvront 46%
Bill Konopnicki 46%
Jonathan Paton 46%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 44%
John Huppenthal 44%
AZ State Senate 1 Steve Pierce Republican 44%
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 43%
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 43%
Barbara Leff 42%
Al Melvin 42%
AZ State House 28 Eric Meyer Democratic 42%
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 40%
Ed Ableser 39%
Amanda Aguirre 39%
Jack Brown 39%
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 39%
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 39%
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 39%
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 39%
Maria Garcia 38%
Martha Garcia 38%
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 38%
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 38%
John Nelson 38%
Daniel Patterson 37%
Nancy Young Wright 37%
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 36%
Rae Waters 36%
Chris Deschene 35%
Matthew Heinz 35%
Phil Lopes 35%
David Schapira 35%
Manny Alvarez 33%
Chad Campbell 33%
Tom Chabin 33%
Leah Landrum Taylor 33%
Anna Tovar 33%
David Lujan 32%
Paula Aboud 31%
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 31%
Meg Burton Cahill 29%
Pat Fleming 29%
Linda Lopez 29%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top