Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Regulation Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House-9 Kyrsten Sinema D 43%
AZ State House-1 Andy Tobin, Sr. R 48%
AZ State House-5 Doris Goodale R 50%
AZ State House-7 Albert Hale D 39%
AZ State House-8 Frank Pratt R 50%
AZ State House-13 Steve Montenegro R 57%
AZ State House-14 David Gowan, Sr. R 50%
AZ State House-14 David Stevens R 52%
AZ State House-20 Carl Seel R 60%
AZ State House-21 Debbie Lesko R 55%
AZ State House-23 John Kavanagh R 52%
AZ State House-24 Chad Campbell D 33%
AZ State House-27 Catherine Miranda D 38%
AZ State House-28 Eric Meyer D 42%
AZ State House-30 Debbie McCune Davis D 40%
AZ State Senate-1 Steve Pierce R 44%
AZ State Senate-3 Olivia Cajero Bedford D 39%
AZ State Senate-4 Lynne Pancrazi D 39%
AZ State Senate-8 Barbara McGuire D 43%
AZ State Senate-9 Steve Farley D 31%
AZ State Senate-10 Dave Bradley D 36%
AZ State Senate-11 Al Melvin R 42%
AZ State Senate-12 Andy Biggs R 75%
AZ State Senate-15 Nancy Barto R 50%
AZ State Senate-17 Steven Yarbrough R 50%
AZ State Senate-18 John McComish R 50%
AZ State Senate-19 Anna Tovar D 33%
AZ State Senate-21 Rick Murphy R 62%
AZ State Senate-22 Judy Burges R 67%
AZ State Senate-23 Michele Reagan R 52%
AZ State Senate-26 Ed Ableser D 39%
AZ State Senate-27 Leah Landrum Taylor D 33%
AZ State Senate-28 Adam Driggs R 54%
AZ State Senate-30 Robert Meza D 38%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns R 50%
AZ Mayor-Position 4 Jerry Weiers R 52%
AZ Mayor-At-Large Jay Tibshraeny R 47%
AZ Vice Mayor-2 Jim Waring R 64%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal R 44%
Paula Aboud 31%
Kirk Adams 50%
Amanda Aguirre 39%
Carolyn Allen 47%
Sylvia Allen 61%
Manny Alvarez 33%
Frank Antenori 52%
Cecil Ash 52%
Ray Barnes 56%
Tom Boone 55%
Jack Brown 39%
Meg Burton Cahill 29%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 44%
Tom Chabin 33%
Ken Cheuvront 46%
Steve Court 55%
Rich Crandall 55%
Sam Crump 50%
Chris Deschene 35%
Pat Fleming 29%
Maria Garcia 38%
Martha Garcia 38%
Pamela Gorman 64%
Ron Gould 83%
Chuck Gray 64%
Linda Gray 51%
Jack Harper 69%
Matthew Heinz 35%
Laurin Hendrix 57%
Russ Jones 50%
Bill Konopnicki 46%
Barbara Leff 42%
Phil Lopes 35%
Linda Lopez 29%
David Lujan 32%
Lucy Mason 62%
Nancy McLain 48%
John Nelson 38%
Warde Nichols 54%
Jonathan Paton 46%
Daniel Patterson 37%
Russell Pearce 67%
Doug Quelland 51%
Rebecca Rios 39%
David Schapira 35%
Thayer Verschoor 50%
Rae Waters 36%
Jim Weiers 55%
Vic Williams 52%
Nancy Young Wright 37%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.