Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Constitutional Government Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House-9 Kyrsten Sinema D 44%
AZ State House-1 Andy Tobin, Sr. R 54%
AZ State House-5 Doris Goodale R 54%
AZ State House-7 Albert Hale D 31%
AZ State House-8 Frank Pratt R 57%
AZ State House-13 Steve Montenegro R 61%
AZ State House-14 David Gowan, Sr. R 59%
AZ State House-14 David Stevens R 57%
AZ State House-20 Carl Seel R 66%
AZ State House-21 Debbie Lesko R 61%
AZ State House-23 John Kavanagh R 61%
AZ State House-24 Chad Campbell D 39%
AZ State House-27 Catherine Miranda D 41%
AZ State House-28 Eric Meyer D 39%
AZ State House-30 Debbie McCune Davis D 46%
AZ State Senate-1 Steve Pierce R 63%
AZ State Senate-3 Olivia Cajero Bedford D 43%
AZ State Senate-4 Lynne Pancrazi D 34%
AZ State Senate-8 Barbara McGuire D 39%
AZ State Senate-9 Steve Farley D 33%
AZ State Senate-10 Dave Bradley D 39%
AZ State Senate-11 Melvin R 59%
AZ State Senate-12 Andy Biggs R 68%
AZ State Senate-15 Nancy Barto R 57%
AZ State Senate-17 Steven Yarbrough R 56%
AZ State Senate-18 John McComish R 56%
AZ State Senate-19 Anna Tovar D 39%
AZ State Senate-21 Rick Murphy R 60%
AZ State Senate-22 Judy Burges R 70%
AZ State Senate-23 Michele Reagan R 55%
AZ State Senate-26 Ed Ableser D 34%
AZ State Senate-27 Leah Landrum Taylor D 31%
AZ State Senate-28 Adam Driggs R 57%
AZ State Senate-30 Robert Meza D 39%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns R 66%
AZ Mayor-Position 4 Jerry Weiers R 56%
AZ Mayor-At-Large Jay Tibshraeny R 57%
AZ Vice Mayor-2 Jim Waring R 66%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal R 60%
Paula Aboud 35%
Kirk Adams 57%
Amanda Aguirre 41%
Carolyn Allen 50%
Sylvia Allen 68%
Manny Alvarez 41%
Frank Antenori 57%
Cecil Ash 52%
Ray Barnes 54%
Tom Boone 56%
Jack Brown 52%
Meg Burton Cahill 36%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 42%
Tom Chabin 30%
Ken Cheuvront 40%
Steve Court 61%
Rich Crandall 55%
Sam Crump 57%
Chris Deschene 35%
Pat Fleming 30%
Maria Garcia 29%
Martha Garcia 41%
Pamela Gorman 71%
Ron Gould 77%
Chuck Gray 66%
Linda Gray 63%
Jack Harper 68%
Matthew Heinz 42%
Laurin Hendrix 61%
Russ Jones 49%
Bill Konopnicki 48%
Barbara Leff 63%
Phil Lopes 34%
Linda Lopez 33%
David Lujan 35%
Lucy Mason 53%
Nancy McLain 61%
John Nelson 60%
Warde Nichols 57%
Jonathan Paton 60%
Daniel Patterson 43%
Russell Pearce 71%
Doug Quelland 56%
Rebecca Rios 38%
David Schapira 33%
Thayer Verschoor 66%
Rae Waters 43%
Jim Weiers 59%
Vic Williams 59%
Nancy Young Wright 43%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.