Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2009 Total Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House-9 Kyrsten Sinema D 40%
AZ State House-1 Andy Tobin, Sr. R 57%
AZ State House-5 Doris Goodale R 58%
AZ State House-7 Albert Hale D 33%
AZ State House-8 Frank Pratt R 59%
AZ State House-13 Steve Montenegro R 68%
AZ State House-14 David Gowan, Sr. R 61%
AZ State House-14 David Stevens R 61%
AZ State House-20 Carl Seel R 70%
AZ State House-21 Debbie Lesko R 64%
AZ State House-23 John Kavanagh R 66%
AZ State House-24 Chad Campbell D 32%
AZ State House-27 Catherine Miranda D 38%
AZ State House-28 Eric Meyer D 37%
AZ State House-30 Debbie McCune Davis D 42%
AZ State Senate-1 Steve Pierce R 61%
AZ State Senate-3 Olivia Cajero Bedford D 38%
AZ State Senate-4 Lynne Pancrazi D 35%
AZ State Senate-8 Barbara McGuire D 37%
AZ State Senate-9 Steve Farley D 30%
AZ State Senate-10 Dave Bradley D 35%
AZ State Senate-11 Melvin R 58%
AZ State Senate-12 Andy Biggs R 76%
AZ State Senate-15 Nancy Barto R 62%
AZ State Senate-17 Steven Yarbrough R 59%
AZ State Senate-18 John McComish R 58%
AZ State Senate-19 Anna Tovar D 33%
AZ State Senate-21 Rick Murphy R 68%
AZ State Senate-22 Judy Burges R 73%
AZ State Senate-23 Michele Reagan R 58%
AZ State Senate-26 Ed Ableser D 33%
AZ State Senate-27 Leah Landrum Taylor D 33%
AZ State Senate-28 Adam Driggs R 61%
AZ State Senate-30 Robert Meza D 38%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns R 66%
AZ Mayor-Position 4 Jerry Weiers R 64%
AZ Mayor-At-Large Jay Tibshraeny R 55%
AZ Vice Mayor-2 Jim Waring R 70%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal R 62%
Paula Aboud 31%
Kirk Adams 61%
Amanda Aguirre 38%
Carolyn Allen 51%
Sylvia Allen 71%
Manny Alvarez 36%
Frank Antenori 60%
Cecil Ash 59%
Ray Barnes 59%
Tom Boone 61%
Jack Brown 39%
Meg Burton Cahill 30%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 40%
Tom Chabin 30%
Ken Cheuvront 43%
Steve Court 62%
Rich Crandall 55%
Sam Crump 64%
Chris Deschene 34%
Pat Fleming 29%
Maria Garcia 30%
Martha Garcia 36%
Pamela Gorman 75%
Ron Gould 80%
Chuck Gray 72%
Linda Gray 63%
Jack Harper 71%
Matthew Heinz 38%
Laurin Hendrix 65%
Russ Jones 52%
Bill Konopnicki 49%
Barbara Leff 59%
Phil Lopes 32%
Linda Lopez 30%
David Lujan 31%
Lucy Mason 58%
Nancy McLain 61%
John Nelson 59%
Warde Nichols 61%
Jonathan Paton 60%
Daniel Patterson 35%
Russell Pearce 76%
Doug Quelland 55%
Rebecca Rios 34%
David Schapira 32%
Thayer Verschoor 65%
Rae Waters 37%
Jim Weiers 63%
Vic Williams 56%
Nancy Young Wright 37%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.