Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2008 Positions on Conservative Issues

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic 34
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic 35
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican 75
AZ State House 18 Bob Robson Republican 55
AZ State House 27 Rebecca Rios Democratic 31
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic 31
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic 38
AZ State Senate 4 Lynne Pancrazi Democratic 34
AZ State Senate 8 Barbara McGuire Democratic 42
AZ State Senate 9 Steve Farley Democratic 36
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic 37
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican 79
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican 66
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican 66
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican 73
AZ State Senate 23 John Kavanagh Republican 70
AZ State Senate 27 Catherine Miranda Democratic 37
AZ State Senate 28 Adam Driggs Republican 66
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic 38
AZ Secretary of State Michele Reagan Republican 53
AZ Commissioner of Education Rich Crandall No Party Affiliation 63
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny No Party Affiliation 54
AZ Mayor At-Large Jerry Weiers Republican 62
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic 39
AZ Council Member 2 Jim Waring 61
Ed Ableser 36
Paula Aboud 37
Kirk Adams 68
Amanda Aguirre 38
Carolyn Allen 48
Manny Alvarez 42
Mark Anderson 63
Marsha Arzberger 41
Ray Barnes 60
Timothy Bee 51
Robert Blendu 53
Tom Boone 57
Jack Brown 39
Jennifer Burns 43
Robert Burns 62
Meg Burton Cahill 31
Chad Campbell 33
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 38
Tom Chabin 36
Ken Cheuvront 46
Doug Clark 69
Sam Crump 73
Mark DeSimone 46
Steve Gallardo 33
Maria Garcia 34
Martha Garcia 36
Pamela Gorman 63
Ron Gould 82
Chuck Gray 63
Linda Gray 51
Trish Groe 78
Jack Harper 73
Pete Hershberger 38
John Huppenthal 52
Karen Johnson 65
Bill Konopnicki 52
Leah Landrum Taylor 39
Barbara Leff 56
Phil Lopes 35
Linda Lopez 36
David Lujan 34
Lucy Mason 54
Marian Ann McClure 52
John McComish 56
Nancy McLain 64
Rick Murphy 67
John Nelson 55
Warde Nichols 68
Tom O'Halleran 46
Jonathan Paton 55
Russell Pearce 78
Charlene Pesquiera 39
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 29
David Schapira 36
Victor Soltero 43
Bob Stump 62
Jackie Thrasher 38
Andy Tobin, Sr. 55
Albert Tom 36
Theresa Ulmer 33
Thayer Verschoor 63
Jim Weiers 59
Nancy Young Wright 35

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top