Rating Group: Goldwater Institute

2007 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House-1 Ann Kirkpatrick D 32%
AZ U.S. House-9 Kyrsten Sinema D 34%
AZ State House-1 Andy Tobin, Sr. R 39%
AZ State House-7 Albert Hale D 38%
AZ State House-12 Eddie Farnsworth R 66%
AZ State House-18 Bob Robson R 46%
AZ State House-23 John Kavanagh R 53%
AZ State House-24 Chad Campbell D 30%
AZ State House-30 Debbie McCune Davis D 29%
AZ State Senate-3 Olivia Cajero Bedford D 32%
AZ State Senate-4 Lynne Pancrazi D 34%
AZ State Senate-8 Barbara McGuire D 36%
AZ State Senate-9 Steve Farley D 29%
AZ State Senate-10 Dave Bradley D 34%
AZ State Senate-12 Andy Biggs R 67%
AZ State Senate-15 Nancy Barto R 49%
AZ State Senate-17 Steven Yarbrough R 44%
AZ State Senate-18 John McComish R 49%
AZ State Senate-21 Rick Murphy R 58%
AZ State Senate-22 Judy Burges R 68%
AZ State Senate-23 Michele Reagan R 42%
AZ State Senate-26 Ed Ableser D 30%
AZ State Senate-27 Leah Landrum Taylor D 30%
AZ State Senate-28 Adam Driggs R 45%
AZ State Senate-29 Steve Gallardo D 31%
AZ State Senate-30 Robert Meza D 33%
AZ Corporation Commission Chairman Bob Stump R 52%
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns R 53%
AZ Mayor-Position 4 Jerry Weiers R 54%
AZ Mayor-At-Large Jay Tibshraeny R 43%
AZ Vice Mayor-2 Jim Waring R 43%
AZ Supervisor-1 Peter Rios D 35%
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal R 50%
Paula Aboud 32%
Kirk Adams 52%
Amanda Aguirre 37%
Carolyn Allen 44%
Manny Alvarez 34%
Mark Anderson 51%
Marsha Arzberger 38%
Ray Barnes 53%
Timothy Bee 44%
Robert Blendu 50%
Tom Boone 42%
Jack Brown 33%
Jennifer Burns 40%
Meg Burton Cahill 30%
Cloves Campbell, Jr. 36%
Ken Cheuvront 42%
Doug Clark 58%
Rich Crandall 45%
Sam Crump 53%
Mark DeSimone 38%
Franklin Flake 52%
Jorge Garcia 32%
Martha Garcia 35%
Pamela Gorman 67%
Ron Gould 77%
Chuck Gray 61%
Linda Gray 44%
Trish Groe 54%
Jack Harper 64%
Pete Hershberger 40%
Karen Johnson 61%
Bill Konopnicki 40%
Barbara Leff 41%
Phil Lopes 30%
Linda Lopez 36%
David Lujan 32%
Lucy Mason 46%
Marian Ann McClure 46%
Nancy McLain 47%
Ben Miranda 35%
John Nelson 44%
Warde Nichols 55%
Tom O'Halleran 39%
Jonathan Paton 44%
Russell Pearce 67%
Charlene Pesquiera 32%
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. 35%
Rebecca Rios 37%
Lena Saradnik 35%
David Schapira 31%
Victor Soltero 34%
Jackie Thrasher 31%
Albert Tom 36%
Theresa Ulmer 34%
Thayer Verschoor 59%
Jim Weiers 48%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.