or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Consumer Federation of California

2005-2010 Cumulative Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 15%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 24%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 98%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 96%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 96%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 17%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 91%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 93%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 76%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 9%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 96%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 16%
CA State Assembly 43 Mike Gatto Democratic 80%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 78%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 96%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 8%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 74%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 91%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 67%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 7%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 15%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 26%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 52%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 85%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 99%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 17%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 15%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 82%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 12%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 89%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 15%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 43%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 75%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 52%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 64%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 19%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 7%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 18%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 75%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 99%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 15%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 99%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 86%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 92%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 14%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 78%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 86%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 92%
Samuel Aanestad 33%
Anthony Adams 14%
Elaine Alquist 94%
Juan Arambula 83%
Roy Ashburn 27%
Bill Berryhill 13%
Sam Blakeslee 21%
Anna Caballero 83%
Charles Calderon 70%
Amina Carter 90%
Joe Coto 92%
Dave Cox 21%
Mike Davis 80%
Hector De La Torre 88%
Charles DeVore 10%
Denise Ducheny 82%
Robert Dutton 17%
Bill Emmerson 17%
Mike Eng 98%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 19%
Dean Florez 83%
Warren Furutani 83%
Martin Garrick 11%
Danny Gilmore 16%
Tom Harman 14%
Mary Hayashi 91%
Dennis Hollingsworth 12%
Alyson Huber 54%
Christine Kehoe 92%
Fiona Ma 94%
Abel Maldonado 41%
Tony Mendoza 83%
Jeff Miller 15%
Pedro Nava 96%
Roger Niello 13%
Chris Norby 0%
Jenny Oropeza 88%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 88%
Gloria Romero 93%
George Runner, Jr. 17%
Ira Ruskin 99%
Mary Salas 91%
Lori Saldaña 97%
Jim Silva 12%
Cameron Smyth 12%
Jose Solorio 73%
Tony Strickland 20%
Audra Strickland 20%
Sandré Swanson 96%
Alberto Torrico 86%
Van Tran 16%
Mike Villines 16%
Patricia Wiggins 95%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top