Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Consumer Federation of California

2009 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Tom Ammiano 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Mike Eng 100%
Noreen Evans 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
Bonnie Lowenthal 100%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 100%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Hector De La Torre 94%
John Pérez 94%
Mary Salas 94%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 94%
Elaine Alquist 93%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield No Party Affiliation 93%
Paul Fong 93%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 93%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. No Party Affiliation 93%
Gloria Romero 93%
Darrell Steinberg 93%
Alberto Torrico 93%
Patricia Wiggins 93%
Mariko Yamada 93%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 91%
Joe Coto 88%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 88%
Nancy Skinner 88%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 87%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 87%
Christine Kehoe 87%
CA State Board of Equalization Fiona Ma Democratic 87%
Jenny Oropeza 87%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 87%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 87%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 87%
Joan Buchanan 83%
Mary Hayashi 82%
Leland Yee 82%
Dean Florez 81%
Juan Arambula 80%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 80%
Warren Furutani 80%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 80%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo No Party Affiliation 79%
Amina Carter 75%
Mike Davis 75%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes No Party Affiliation 75%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 75%
Manuel Pérez 75%
Anna Caballero 73%
Roderick Wright 73%
Denise Ducheny 71%
CA State Senate 22 Edward Hernandez Democratic 71%
Jose Solorio 69%
Lou Correa 67%
Abel Maldonado 64%
Charles Calderon 63%
CA State Senate 35 Isadore Hall III Democratic 63%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 60%
Ron Calderon 53%
Alyson Huber 53%
Samuel Aanestad 47%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 31%
Tony Strickland 29%
Dan Logue 27%
Mike Villines 27%
Roger Niello 25%
Van Tran 25%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 20%
Bill Berryhill 20%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 20%
Dave Cox 20%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 20%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 20%
Martin Garrick 20%
Danny Gilmore 20%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 20%
Nathan Fletcher 19%
CA U.S. House 25 Steve Knight Republican 19%
Bill Emmerson 18%
Jeff Miller 18%
Audra Strickland 18%
Mark Wyland 18%
Roy Ashburn 17%
Michael Duvall 17%
Tom Harman 15%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 14%
Robert Dutton 14%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 14%
Anthony Adams 13%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 13%
Sam Blakeslee 13%
Charles DeVore 13%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 13%
Curt Hagman 13%
CA State Board of Equalization Diane Harkey Republican 13%
Brian Nestande 13%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 13%
Jim Silva 13%
Cameron Smyth 12%
Connie Conway 11%
Dennis Hollingsworth 7%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 6%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top