Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Consumer Federation of California

2009 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 47%
Anthony Adams 13%
Elaine Alquist 93%
Tom Ammiano 100%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 20%
Juan Arambula 80%
Roy Ashburn 17%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 87%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 87%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 13%
Bill Berryhill 20%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 20%
Sam Blakeslee 13%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 80%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield No Party Affiliation 93%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Joan Buchanan 83%
Anna Caballero 73%
Charles Calderon 63%
Ron Calderon 53%
Amina Carter 75%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo No Party Affiliation 79%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 14%
Connie Conway 11%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 20%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Lou Correa 67%
Joe Coto 88%
Dave Cox 20%
Mike Davis 75%
Hector De La Torre 94%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 91%
Charles DeVore 13%
Denise Ducheny 71%
Robert Dutton 14%
Michael Duvall 17%
Bill Emmerson 18%
Mike Eng 100%
Noreen Evans 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 19%
Dean Florez 81%
Paul Fong 93%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes No Party Affiliation 75%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 20%
Warren Furutani 80%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 13%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 60%
Martin Garrick 20%
Danny Gilmore 20%
Curt Hagman 13%
CA State Senate 35 Isadore Hall III Democratic 63%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Diane Harkey Republican 13%
Tom Harman 15%
Mary Hayashi 82%
CA State Senate 22 Edward Hernandez Democratic 71%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 88%
Dennis Hollingsworth 7%
Alyson Huber 53%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 14%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 20%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 100%
Christine Kehoe 87%
CA U.S. House 25 Steve Knight Republican 19%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
Dan Logue 27%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 93%
Bonnie Lowenthal 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Fiona Ma Democratic 87%
Abel Maldonado 64%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 80%
Jeff Miller 18%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 75%
Brian Nestande 13%
Roger Niello 25%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 31%
Jenny Oropeza 87%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 93%
John Pérez 94%
Manuel Pérez 75%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 87%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. No Party Affiliation 93%
Gloria Romero 93%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 13%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Mary Salas 94%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Jim Silva 13%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
Nancy Skinner 88%
Cameron Smyth 12%
Jose Solorio 69%
Darrell Steinberg 93%
Tony Strickland 29%
Audra Strickland 18%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 94%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 87%
Alberto Torrico 93%
Van Tran 25%
Mike Villines 27%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 6%
Patricia Wiggins 93%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 87%
Roderick Wright 73%
Mark Wyland 18%
Mariko Yamada 93%
Leland Yee 82%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top