Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Consumer Federation of California

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 21%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 31%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 14%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 27%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 57%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 21%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 14%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 87%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 27%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 79%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 29%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 64%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 93%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 21%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 7%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 81%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 85%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill 23%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 86%
Samuel Aanestad 27%
Anthony Adams 29%
Elaine Alquist 93%
Juan Arambula 86%
Roy Ashburn 33%
Bill Berryhill 21%
Sam Blakeslee 29%
Anna Caballero 100%
Charles Calderon 92%
Ron Calderon 57%
Amina Carter 93%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Lou Correa 54%
Joe Coto 86%
Dave Cox 25%
Mike Davis 79%
Hector De La Torre 80%
Charles DeVore 23%
Denise Ducheny 77%
Robert Dutton 13%
Michael Duvall 14%
Bill Emmerson 27%
Mike Eng 93%
Noreen Evans 86%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 71%
Warren Furutani 85%
Martin Garrick 21%
Tom Harman 13%
Mary Hayashi 87%
Dennis Hollingsworth 21%
Dave Jones 100%
Christine Kehoe 87%
Fiona Ma 93%
Abel Maldonado 33%
Pedro Nava 93%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 64%
Roger Niello 14%
Jenny Oropeza 69%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 86%
Gloria Romero 85%
George Runner, Jr. 14%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 93%
Jim Silva 20%
Cameron Smyth 21%
Jose Solorio 64%
Darrell Steinberg 93%
Tony Strickland 29%
Audra Strickland 29%
Sandré Swanson 93%
Alberto Torrico 86%
Van Tran 10%
Mike Villines 14%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Mark Wyland 30%
Leland Yee 80%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top