Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Children's Advocacy Institute

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 68%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 64%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 40%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 48%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 60%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 60%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 52%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 96%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 40%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 96%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 96%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 64%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 52%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 96%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 92%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 92%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill 44%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 96%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 96%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 96%
Samuel Aanestad 36%
Anthony Adams 60%
Elaine Alquist 96%
Juan Arambula 96%
Roy Ashburn 48%
Sam Blakeslee 68%
Anna Caballero 92%
Charles Calderon 84%
Ron Calderon 96%
Amina Carter 96%
Ellen Corbett 96%
Lou Correa 84%
Joe Coto 96%
Dave Cox 52%
Mike Davis 88%
Hector De La Torre 92%
Charles DeVore 52%
Denise Ducheny 96%
Robert Dutton 56%
Michael Duvall 52%
Bill Emmerson 64%
Mike Eng 96%
Noreen Evans 96%
Mike Feuer 88%
Dean Florez 84%
Warren Furutani 92%
Martin Garrick 56%
Tom Harman 56%
Mary Hayashi 96%
Dennis Hollingsworth 36%
Dave Jones 96%
Christine Kehoe 96%
Bonnie Lowenthal 92%
Fiona Ma 96%
Abel Maldonado 76%
Pedro Nava 96%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 96%
Roger Niello 56%
Jenny Oropeza 88%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 96%
Gloria Romero 96%
George Runner, Jr. 44%
Ira Ruskin 96%
Lori Saldaña 88%
Jim Silva 60%
Cameron Smyth 68%
Jose Solorio 96%
Darrell Steinberg 92%
Audra Strickland 68%
Sandré Swanson 96%
Alberto Torrico 96%
Van Tran 60%
Mike Villines 44%
Patricia Wiggins 96%
Mark Wyland 60%
Leland Yee 88%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top