Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2008 Lifetime Score

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Lisa Brown F
WA State Senate 27 Jeannie Darneille Democratic F
Mary Lou Dickerson F
WA State Senate 22 Karen Fraser Democratic F
Mary Haugen F
WA State House 32 Position 2 Ruth Kagi Democratic F
Margarita Prentice F
Debbie Regala F
WA State House 37 Position 1 Sharon Tomiko Santos Democratic F
Don Barlow D
WA State House 41 Position 2 Judy Clibborn Democratic D
WA State House 34 Position 1 Eileen Cody Democratic D
Deb Eddy D
Dennis Flannigan D
WA State Senate 11 Bob Hasegawa Democratic D
WA State House 22 Position 2 Sam Hunt Democratic D
Ross Hunter D
Fred Jarrett D
Tyana Kelley D
Phyllis Kenney D
WA State Senate 1 Rosemary McAuliffe Democratic D
WA Council Member 8 Joe McDermott D
Carol Moser D
Judi Owens D
WA State Senate 43 Jamie Pedersen Democratic D
WA State House 37 Position 2 Eric Pettigrew Democratic D
Geoff Simpson D
Alex Wood D
WA Councilman 5 Hans Dunshee Democratic C-
WA State House 11 Position 1 Zack Hudgins Democratic C-
WA State Senate 38 John McCoy Democratic C-
WA State House 49 Position 2 Jim Moeller Democratic C-
Dawn Morrell C-
Al O'Brien C-
Phil Rockefeller C-
John Sweeney C-
Brendan Williams C-
WA State Senate 32 Maralyn Chase Democratic C
WA State House 29 Position 2 Steve Kirby Democratic C
Leslie Klein C
Sue Lani Madsen C
WA State House 40 Position 2 Jeff Morris Democratic C
Jim Kastama C+
WA State House 3 Position 2 Timm Ormsby Democratic C+
WA State House 43 Position 2 Frank Chopp Democratic B-
Donald Crawford B
WA State Senate 25 Bruce Dammeier Republican B
Robert Dutton B
Mark Ericks B
Timothy Hattenburg B
WA State House 16 Position 2 Terry Nealey Republican B
Craig Pridemore B
Fred Walser B
WA State House 16 Position 1 Maureen Walsh Republican B
WA State Senate 29 Steve Conway Democratic B+
Marilyn Rasmussen B+
Dennis Richter B+
WA State House 15 Position 1 Bruce Chandler Republican A-
Linda Haddon A-
Kathy Haigh A-
WA Auditor Troy Kelley Democratic A-
Liz Loomis A-
Larry Seaquist A-
WA State House 10 Position 1 Norma Smith Republican A-
WA Councilperson 1 Pat Sullivan Democratic A-
WA State House 47 Position 2 Pat Sullivan Democratic A-
John Ahern A
Gary Alexander A
Glenn Anderson A
WA State Senate 10 Barbara Bailey Republican A
Bob Baker A
WA State Senate 2 Randi Becker Republican A
JeanMarie Christenson A
Steven Cook A
Larry Crouse A
Dave Dooley A
WA State Senate 42 Doug Ericksen Republican A
Jonathan Fant A
Fred Finn A
WA State Senate 24 Jim Hargrove Democratic A
WA U.S. House 3 Jaime Herrera Beutler Republican A
Mike Hope A
Joseph James A
Marlyn Jensen A
WA State House 14 Position 1 Norm Johnson Republican A
Lynn Kessler A
WA State Senate 14 Curtis King Republican A
WA State House 8 Position 1 Brad Klippert Republican A
Kelli Linville A
Connie Lord A
Robert McCaslin, Sr. A
Timothy Miller A
WA Commissioner 1 Randy Neatherlin A
Toby Nixon A
Mike Novak A
WA State House 20 Position 2 Ed Orcutt Republican A
WA State House 6 Position 1 Kevin Parker Republican A
WA State Senate 12 Linda Parlette Republican A
Cheryl Pflug A
Skip Priest A
Dave Quall A
Alex Rion A
WA State House 5 Position 1 Jay Rodne Republican A
Charles Ross A
WA State House 9 Position 2 Joe Schmick Republican A
WA State House 4 Position 2 Matt Shea Republican A
WA State House 7 Position 1 Shelly Short Republican A
Michele Smith A
Thomas Thomas A
Michael Thompson A
Steve Van Luven A
Deb Wallace A
WA State Senate 13 Judy Warnick Republican A
Ron Weigelt A
Mike Armstrong A+
WA State Senate 17 Donald Benton Republican A+
WA State House 19 Position 2 Brian Blake Democratic A+
Tom Campbell A+
Michael Carrell A+
WA State House 12 Position 1 Cary Condotta Republican A+
WA State House 20 Position 1 Richard DeBolt Republican A+
Bill Grant A+
Steve Hailey A+
WA State House 8 Position 2 Larry Haler Republican A+
Brian Hatfield A+
WA State Senate 16 Mike Hewitt Republican A+
Bill Hinkle A+
WA State House 31 Position 2 Christopher Hurst Democratic A+
WA State House 7 Position 2 Joel Kretz Republican A+
WA State House 39 Position 1 Dan Kristiansen Republican A+
WA Council Member 3 Jim McCune A+
WA U.S. House 4 Dan Newhouse Republican A+
WA State Senate 39 Kirk Pearson Republican A+
WA Council Member 1 Dan Roach A+
WA State Senate 9 Mark Schoesler Republican A+
Val Stevens A+
Dan Swecker A+
WA State Senate 19 Dean Takko Democratic A+
WA State House 24 Position 1 Kevin Van De Wege Democratic A+
Joseph Zarelli A+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top