Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2008 Lifetime Score

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
John Ahern A
Gary Alexander A
Glenn Anderson A
Mike Armstrong A+
WA State Senate 10 Barbara Bailey Republican A
Bob Baker A
Don Barlow D
WA State Senate 2 Randi Becker Republican A
WA State Senate 17 Donald Benton Republican A+
WA State House 19 Position 2 Brian Blake Democratic A+
Lisa Brown F
Tom Campbell A+
Michael Carrell A+
WA State House 15 Position 1 Bruce Chandler Republican A-
WA State Senate 32 Maralyn Chase Democratic C
WA State House 43 Position 2 Frank Chopp Democratic B-
JeanMarie Christenson A
WA State House 41 Position 2 Judy Clibborn Democratic D
WA State House 34 Position 1 Eileen Cody Democratic D
WA State House 12 Position 1 Cary Condotta Republican A+
WA State Senate 29 Steve Conway Democratic B+
Steven Cook A
Donald Crawford B
Larry Crouse A
WA State Senate 25 Bruce Dammeier Republican B
WA State Senate 27 Jeannie Darneille Democratic F
WA State House 20 Position 1 Richard DeBolt Republican A+
Mary Lou Dickerson F
Dave Dooley A
WA Councilman 5 Hans Dunshee Democratic C-
Robert Dutton B
Deb Eddy D
Mark Ericks B
WA State Senate 42 Doug Ericksen Republican A
Jonathan Fant A
Fred Finn A
Dennis Flannigan D
WA State Senate 22 Karen Fraser Democratic F
Bill Grant A+
Linda Haddon A-
Kathy Haigh A-
Steve Hailey A+
WA State House 8 Position 2 Larry Haler Republican A+
WA State Senate 24 Jim Hargrove Democratic A
WA State Senate 11 Bob Hasegawa Democratic D
Brian Hatfield A+
Timothy Hattenburg B
Mary Haugen F
WA U.S. House 3 Jaime Herrera Beutler Republican A
WA State Senate 16 Mike Hewitt Republican A+
Bill Hinkle A+
Mike Hope A
WA State House 11 Position 1 Zack Hudgins Democratic C-
WA State House 22 Position 2 Sam Hunt Democratic D
Ross Hunter D
WA State House 31 Position 2 Christopher Hurst Democratic A+
Joseph James A
Fred Jarrett D
Marlyn Jensen A
WA State House 14 Position 1 Norm Johnson Republican A
WA State House 32 Position 2 Ruth Kagi Democratic F
Jim Kastama C+
WA Auditor Troy Kelley Democratic A-
Tyana Kelley D
Phyllis Kenney D
Lynn Kessler A
WA State Senate 14 Curtis King Republican A
WA State House 29 Position 2 Steve Kirby Democratic C
Leslie Klein C
WA State House 8 Position 1 Brad Klippert Republican A
WA State House 7 Position 2 Joel Kretz Republican A+
WA State House 39 Position 1 Dan Kristiansen Republican A+
Kelli Linville A
Liz Loomis A-
Connie Lord A
Sue Lani Madsen C
WA State Senate 1 Rosemary McAuliffe Democratic D
Robert McCaslin, Sr. A
WA State Senate 38 John McCoy Democratic C-
WA Council Member 3 Jim McCune A+
WA Council Member 8 Joe McDermott D
Timothy Miller A
WA State House 49 Position 2 Jim Moeller Democratic C-
Dawn Morrell C-
WA State House 40 Position 2 Jeff Morris Democratic C
Carol Moser D
WA State House 16 Position 2 Terry Nealey Republican B
WA Commissioner 1 Randy Neatherlin A
WA U.S. House 4 Dan Newhouse Republican A+
Toby Nixon A
Mike Novak A
Al O'Brien C-
WA State House 20 Position 2 Ed Orcutt Republican A
WA State House 3 Position 2 Timm Ormsby Democratic C+
Judi Owens D
WA State House 6 Position 1 Kevin Parker Republican A
WA State Senate 12 Linda Parlette Republican A
WA State Senate 39 Kirk Pearson Republican A+
WA State Senate 43 Jamie Pedersen Democratic D
WA State House 37 Position 2 Eric Pettigrew Democratic D
Cheryl Pflug A
Margarita Prentice F
Craig Pridemore B
Skip Priest A
Dave Quall A
Marilyn Rasmussen B+
Debbie Regala F
Dennis Richter B+
Alex Rion A
WA Council Member 1 Dan Roach A+
Phil Rockefeller C-
WA State House 5 Position 1 Jay Rodne Republican A
Charles Ross A
WA State House 37 Position 1 Sharon Tomiko Santos Democratic F
WA State House 9 Position 2 Joe Schmick Republican A
WA State Senate 9 Mark Schoesler Republican A+
Larry Seaquist A-
WA State House 4 Position 2 Matt Shea Republican A
WA State House 7 Position 1 Shelly Short Republican A
Geoff Simpson D
Michele Smith A
WA State House 10 Position 1 Norma Smith Republican A-
Val Stevens A+
WA Councilperson 1 Pat Sullivan Democratic A-
WA State House 47 Position 2 Pat Sullivan Democratic A-
Dan Swecker A+
John Sweeney C-
WA State Senate 19 Dean Takko Democratic A+
Thomas Thomas A
Michael Thompson A
WA State House 24 Position 1 Kevin Van De Wege Democratic A+
Steve Van Luven A
Deb Wallace A
Fred Walser B
WA State House 16 Position 1 Maureen Walsh Republican B
WA State Senate 13 Judy Warnick Republican A
Ron Weigelt A
Brendan Williams C-
Alex Wood D
Joseph Zarelli A+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top