Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Vermont National Federation of Independent Business

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
VT Governor Peter Shumlin Democratic 33%
VT State House Addison-1 Betty Nuovo Democratic 0%
VT State House Bennington-2-2 Mary Morrissey Republican 100%
VT State House Bennington-3 Alice Miller Democratic 8%
VT State House Chittenden-4-2 Bill Lippert, Jr. Democratic 0%
VT State House Chittenden-6-5 Mary Sullivan Democratic 0%
VT State House Chittenden-7-2 Ann Pugh Democratic 17%
VT State House Chittenden-9-2 Maureen Dakin Democratic 60%
VT State House Franklin-3-1 Kathleen Keenan Democratic 9%
VT State House Lamoille-2 Mark Woodward Democratic 8%
VT State House Rutland-3 Robert Helm Democratic, Republican 100%
VT State House Washington-3 Paul Poirier Independent 0%
VT State House Windham-4 David Deen Democratic 0%
VT State House Windsor-1 Donna Sweaney Democratic 0%
VT State House Windsor-3-2 Alice Emmons Democratic, Working Families 8%
VT State Senate Bennington Richard Sears, Jr. Democratic 13%
VT State Senate Chittenden Helen Riehle 50%
VT State Senate Chittenden Dave Zuckerman Democratic, Progressive 8%
VT State Senate Essex-Orleans Robert Starr Democratic 25%
VT State Senate Grand Isle Dick Mazza Democratic 60%
VT State Senate Lamoille Richard Westman Republican 75%
VT State Senate Orange Mark MacDonald Democratic 13%
VT State Senate Washington Ann Cummings Democratic 25%
VT State Senate Washington Bill Doyle Republican 50%
VT State Senate Windsor Dick McCormack Democratic 13%
Elaine Alfano 0%
George Allard 8%
Philip Angell, Jr. 100%
Jean Ankeney 25%
William Aswad 9%
Jan Backus 13%
Thomas Bahre 88%
Joyce Barbieri 25%
Jason Barney 92%
Susan Bartlett 25%
Alan Bjerke 0%
Rene Blanchard 50%
John Bloomer, Jr. 67%
Lynn Bohi 0%
Stephanie Bourdeau 100%
Terrill Bouricius 8%
Peter Brady, Sr. 25%
Gordon Bristol 36%
Francis Brooks 0%
Peter Brownell 71%
Donald Brunelle 100%
Carol Buchdahl 0%
Forest Buckland 75%
Julius Canns 88%
Diane Carmolli 0%
Lucille Casavant 0%
Nancy Chard 33%
Paul Cillo 0%
David Clark 100%
Wendell Lawrence Coleman 83%
Dean Corren 17%
Thomas Costello 0%
George Costes 50%
Howard Crawford 100%
Dan Darrow 50%
Steve Darrow 0%
Danny Deuel 0%
Anthony Dominick 67%
Patricia Doyle 0%
Matt Dunne 25%
John Edwards 58%
Fred Ehrich Jr. 88%
Michael Flaherty 73%
Sally Fox 0%
Walter Freed 100%
John Freidin 0%
William Fyfe 10%
Avis Gervais 17%
Anne Ginevan 80%
Mary Grant 75%
Henry Gray 100%
James Greenwood 75%
Henry Gretkowski 42%
Ann Hallowell 50%
David Hathaway 67%
Martha Heath 0%
Neil Hoag 55%
Henry Holmes 91%
Cheryl Hooker 13%
Constance Houston 100%
Steve Howard 0%
Dick Howrigan, Sr. 27%
Cola Hudson 100%
Margaret Hummel 17%
Bruce Hyde 92%
Robert Ide 75%
Vincent Illuzzi 63%
Carolyn Kehler 0%
Paul Kendall, Jr. 100%
Wayne Kenyon 8%
Robert Everett Kinsey 56%
Sara Kittell 13%
Karen Kitzmiller 11%
Michael Klopchin 0%
Paul Knox 90%
Thomas Koch 75%
Gerald Krasnow 0%
Jerry Kreitzer 0%
John Kristensen 0%
John LaBarge 100%
Karen Moran Lafayette 0%
Steve Larrabee, Sr. 100%
Ralph Lehman 33%
Ted Lindgren 50%
Thomas Little 55%
Judy Livingston 100%
Bill MacKinnon 22%
Richard Marron 100%
Frederick Maslack 92%
Hull Maynard 88%
Frank Mazur 92%
Mary Mazzariello 0%
Thomas McGrath 55%
James McNamara 42%
Doran Metzger 91%
Virginia Milkey 8%
Marion Milne 40%
Lawrence Molloy 42%
Karen Moore 0%
John Francis Murphy 25%
Jennifer Nelson 0%
Donny Osman 0%
Allen Palmer 88%
Edward Paquin, Jr. 0%
Mary-Ann Parizo 9%
Janice Peaslee 100%
Richard Pembroke, Sr. 75%
Albert Joseph Perry 18%
Ira Pike 100%
Ben-Zion Ptashnik 13%
Elizabeth Mary Ready 25%
Gary Richardson 100%
Marilyn Keith Rivero 20%
Cheryl Pratt Rivers 13%
John Robb 92%
Robert Rusten 50%
George Schiavone 100%
Stanley Scribner, Jr. 0%
Ann Seibert 0%
Nancy Sheltra 100%
Joseph Sherman 100%
Mary Simpers 100%
Howard Sinnott 17%
Patricia Smith 0%
Barbara Snelling 88%
Andrew Snyder 0%
Edward Soboleski 0%
Jeb Spaulding 29%
Karen Steele 67%
Bill Suchmann 100%
Gene Sweetser 58%
Gaye Symington 18%
Ruth Towne 83%
John Patrick Tracy 0%
Oreste Valsangiacomo, Sr. 0%
Val Vincent 8%
Michael Vinton 42%
Cathy Voyer 100%
Perry Waite 17%
Bob Walker 100%
Alan Weiss 17%
Susan Wheeler 20%
James Willett 92%
Philip Winters 100%
William Wisell 58%
Robert Wood, Jr. 100%
Carolyn Ann Yarnell 20%
Mark Young 91%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top