Rating Group: Vermont National Federation of Independent Business

2007-2008 Positions on Pro-Small Business Policy

State Office Name Party Rating
VT Governor Peter Shumlin D 63
VT Lieutenant Governor Phil Scott R 63
VT State House-Addison-1 Betty Nuovo D 0
VT State House-Addison-2 Willem Jewett D 0
VT State House-Addison-4 Michael Fisher D 0
VT State House-Addison-4 David Sharpe D 14
VT State House-Addison-Rutland Will Stevens I 57
VT State House-Bennington-1 Bill Botzow D 0
VT State House-Bennington-2-1 Timothy Corcoran II D 71
VT State House-Bennington-2-2 Anne Mook D 0
VT State House-Bennington-2-2 Mary Morrissey R 100
VT State House-Bennington-3 Alice Miller D 0
VT State House-Bennington-4 Cynthia Browning D 14
VT State House-Bennington-Rutland Patti Komline R 100
VT State House-Caledonia-1 Leigh Larocque R 100
VT State House-Caledonia-4 Richard Lawrence R 100
VT State House-Chittenden-2 Jim McCullough D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-3 William Frank D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-4-2 Bill Lippert, Jr. D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-5-2 Joan Lenes D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-6-1 Kurt Wright R 100
VT State House-Chittenden-6-5 Johannah Donovan D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-6-7 Clem Bissonnette D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-7-2 Ann Pugh D 17
VT State House-Chittenden-7-3 Helen Head D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-8-1 Debbie Evans D 43
VT State House-Chittenden-8-1 Linda Myers R 86
VT State House-Chittenden-8-2 Tim Jerman D 14
VT State House-Chittenden-8-3 Martha Heath D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-9-1 Jim Condon D 50
VT State House-Chittenden-9-2 Patrick Brennan R 100
VT State House-Chittenden-9-2 Kristy Spengler D 0
VT State House-Chittenden-10 Donald Turner, Jr. R 100
VT State House-Essex-Caledonia-Orleans William Johnson Other 100
VT State House-Franklin-1 Carolyn Branagan R 86
VT State House-Franklin-3-1 Kathleen Keenan D 43
VT State House-Franklin-4 Michel Consejo D 0
VT State House-Grand Isle-Chittenden Mitzi Johnson D 14
VT State House-Lamoille-1 Heidi Scheuermann R 100
VT State House-Lamoille-2 Linda Martin D 14
VT State House-Lamoille-Washington Peter Peltz D 0
VT State House-Lamoille-Washington Shap Smith, Jr. D 0
VT State House-Orange-1 Susan Hatch Davis Other 14
VT State House-Orange-1 Philip Winters R 100
VT State House-Orange-2 Sarah Copeland-Hanzas D 0
VT State House-Orange-Washington-Addison Patsy French D 0
VT State House-Orleans-2 Duncan Kilmartin Other 100
VT State House-Orleans-2 Michael Marcotte Other 100
VT State House-Rutland-1 Andrew Donaghy R 100
VT State House-Rutland-2 Dave Potter D 14
VT State House-Rutland-3 William Canfield Other 100
VT State House-Rutland-3 Robert Helm Other 100
VT State House-Rutland-Bennington John Malcolm D 0
VT State House-Rutland-Windsor-2 Dennis Devereux R 100
VT State House-Washington-1 Anne Donahue R 86
VT State House-Washington-2 Thomas Koch Other 100
VT State House-Washington-2 Francis McFaun Other 43
VT State House-Washington-4 Warren Kitzmiller D 0
VT State House-Washington-5 Tony Klein D 0
VT State House-Washington-6 Janet Ancel D 0
VT State House-Washington-7 Maxine Grad D 0
VT State House-Windham-3 Carolyn Partridge D 0
VT State House-Windham-4 David Deen D 0
VT State House-Windham-4 Mike Mrowicki D 0
VT State House-Windham-5 Richard Marek D 0
VT State House-Windham-6 Ann Manwaring D 43
VT State House-Windham-Bennington John Moran D 14
VT State House-Windsor-1 Donna Sweaney D 0
VT State House-Windsor-3-2 Alice Emmons Other 0
VT State House-Windsor-3-2 Cynthia Martin Other 0
VT State House-Windsor-5 Alison Clarkson D 0
VT State House-Windsor-Orange-2 James Masland D 0
VT State House-Windsor-Rutland Sandy Haas Other 14
VT State Senate-Addison Claire Ayer D 63
VT State Senate-Addison Christopher Bray D 0
VT State Senate-Bennington Bob Hartwell D 50
VT State Senate-Bennington Richard Sears, Jr. D 63
VT State Senate-Caledonia Jane Kitchel D 75
VT State Senate-Chittenden Ginny Lyons D 63
VT State Senate-Chittenden Diane Snelling R 88
VT State Senate-Chittenden Dave Zuckerman Other 14
VT State Senate-Essex-Orleans John Rodgers D 43
VT State Senate-Essex-Orleans Robert Starr D 88
VT State Senate-Franklin Norman McAllister R 100
VT State Senate-Grand Isle Richard Mazza D 63
VT State Senate-Lamoille Richard Westman R 100
VT State Senate-Orange Mark MacDonald D 38
VT State Senate-Rutland Peg Flory R 100
VT State Senate-Rutland Kevin Mullin R 83
VT State Senate-Washington Ann Cummings D 57
VT State Senate-Washington William Doyle R 86
VT State Senate-Windham Jeanette White D 63
VT State Senate-Windsor John Campbell D 57
VT State Senate-Windsor Richard McCormack D 63
VT State Senate-Windsor Alice Nitka D 63
VT Secretary of the Agency of Human Services Doug Racine D 75
Joe Acinapura 71
Steven Adams 100
David Ainsworth 100
Jon Anderson 0
Margaret Andrews 0
William Aswad 0
Kenneth Atkins 0
Albert Audette 33
Joseph Baker 100
Susan Bartlett 75
Bill Carris 63
Margaret Cheney 0
Gregory Clark 100
John Clerkin 100
Gale Courcelle 0
Howard Crawford 100
Sarah Edwards 14
Edward Flanagan 43
Harold Giard 63
Gary Gilbert 14
Sandra Grenier 100
Steve Howard 14
Dick Howrigan, Sr. 33
Richard Hube 100
Vincent Illuzzi 75
Sara Kittell 50
Joseph Krawczyk, Jr. 100
Mark Larson 0
Lucy Leriche 0
Robert Lewis 100
Jason Lorber 0
Steven Maier 0
Hull Maynard 100
Virginia McCormick 0
Patricia McDonald 100
James McNeil 100
Virginia Milkey 0
Hinda Miller 75
Sue Minter 0
Mark Mitchell 0
John Morley III 100
Floyd Nease 0
Michael John Obuchowski 0
Patricia O'Donnell 100
Scott Orr 0
Janice Peaslee 100
Kathy Pellett 0
Ernest Shand 0
Ira Trombley 0
Rachel Weston 0
Scott Wheeler 57
John Zenie 14

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.