or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Farm Bureau Federation

1993-1994 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 79%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 67%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 79%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 89%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 21%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 33%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 79%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 93%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 79%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 14%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 21%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 86%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 21%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 64%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 86%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 93%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 57%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 57%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 7%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 89%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 33%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 93%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 21%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 14%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 21%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 64%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 100%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 50%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 14%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 14%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 33%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 14%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 36%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 33%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 93%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 86%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 14%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 21%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 7%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 64%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 89%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 21%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 22%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 33%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 86%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 21%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 71%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 21%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 33%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 64%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 21%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 7%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 7%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 7%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 29%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 93%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 93%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 79%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 36%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 29%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 89%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 7%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 86%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 43%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 64%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 44%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 0%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 33%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 14%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 86%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 86%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 14%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 22%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 7%
Gary Ackerman 14%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 44%
Wayne Allard 100%
Rob Andrews 57%
Bill Archer 86%
Richard Armey 93%
Henry Scott Baesler 64%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
William Baker 86%
Cass Ballenger 93%
James Barcia 57%
Bill Barrett 100%
Roscoe Bartlett 79%
Herbert Bateman 79%
Max Baucus 56%
Anthony Beilenson 14%
Bob Bennett 89%
Douglas Bereuter 71%
Howard Berman 7%
Tom Bevill 36%
Michael Bilirakis 71%
Jeff Bingaman 67%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 93%
Peter Blute 71%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 100%
David Edward Bonior 0%
Rick Boucher 29%
Bill Bradley 33%
John Breaux 56%
George Brown, Jr. 21%
Hank Brown 89%
Richard Bryan 33%
John Bryant 43%
Dale Bumpers 56%
Jim Bunning 79%
Conrad Burns 89%
Dan Burton 64%
Steve Buyer 93%
Robert Byrd 33%
Herbert Callahan 79%
Ben Campbell 67%
Mike Castle 93%
John Chafee 78%
William Clay, Sr. 0%
Eva Clayton 7%
William Cohen 67%
Ronald Coleman 29%
Barbara-Rose Collins 14%
Cardiss Collins 7%
Michael Collins 79%
Larry Combest 86%
Gary Condit 86%
Kent Conrad 44%
Jerry Costello 29%
Paul Coverdell 89%
Christopher Cox 93%
Larry Craig 89%
Robert Cramer 43%
Philip Crane 93%
Randall Cunningham 93%
Alfonse D'Amato 78%
Patsy Ann Danner 64%
Thomas Daschle 67%
E. Kika de la Garza 50%
Thomas DeLay 93%
Ronald Dellums 0%
Peter Deutsch 29%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 64%
Jay Dickey 86%
Norm Dicks 36%
Julian Dixon 0%
Chris Dodd 56%
Robert Dole 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 89%
Calvin Dooley 71%
John Doolittle 86%
Byron Dorgan 56%
Robert Dornan 86%
David Dreier 93%
Jennifer Dunn 100%
Chet Edwards 79%
Vern Ehlers 67%
Bill Emerson 100%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 71%
Thomas Ewing 100%
Jim Exon 56%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 78%
Harris Fawell 79%
Victor Fazio 57%
Russ Feingold 11%
Cleo Fields 21%
Jack Fields, Jr. 93%
Bob Filner 7%
Floyd Flake 21%
Wendell Ford 56%
Tillie Fowler 86%
Barney Frank 14%
Gary Franks 71%
Robert Franks 71%
Jonas Frost III 64%
Elton Gallegly 86%
Sam Gejdenson 7%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top