or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Retire Safe

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 21%
Gary Ackerman 7%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 93%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 93%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 100%
Rodney Alexander 71%
Wayne Allard 89%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 7%
Rob Andrews 14%
Joe Baca, Sr. 21%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 100%
Brian Baird 14%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 7%
J. Gresham Barrett 86%
Roscoe Bartlett 86%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 100%
Charlie Bass 79%
Max Baucus 44%
Evan Bayh 22%
Bob Beauprez 93%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 7%
Bob Bennett 89%
Shelley Berkley 14%
Howard Berman 14%
Marion Berry 43%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 11%
Judy Biggert 93%
Michael Bilirakis 93%
Jeff Bingaman 11%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 36%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 7%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 7%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 86%
Sherwood Boehlert 79%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 93%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 86%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 100%
Mary Bono Mack 93%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 93%
Leonard Boswell 43%
Rick Boucher 29%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 11%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 43%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 86%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 93%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 14%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 7%
Henry Brown, Jr. 93%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 7%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 89%
Ginny Brown-Waite 93%
Jim Bunning 100%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 93%
Conrad Burns 89%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 93%
Dan Burton 71%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 0%
Steve Buyer 93%
Robert Byrd 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 100%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 100%
Chris Cannon 93%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 93%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 0%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 93%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 7%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 7%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 14%
Dennis Cardoza 43%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 44%
Julia Carson 14%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 86%
Edward Case 7%
Mike Castle 57%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 93%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 56%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 89%
Ben Chandler III 33%
Chris Chocola 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 14%
Hillary Clinton 11%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 21%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 100%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 93%
Norm Coleman 89%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 89%
Kent Conrad 22%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 14%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 22%
Jerry Costello 43%
Christopher Cox 100%
Larry Craig 89%
Robert Cramer 79%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 89%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 93%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 14%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 86%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 7%
Randall Cunningham 100%
Artur Davis 14%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 14%
Jo Ann Davis 86%
Lincoln Davis 43%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 7%
Thomas Davis III 93%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 14%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 14%
Bill Delahunt 7%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 7%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 64%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 86%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 93%
Norm Dicks 14%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 14%
Chris Dodd 11%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 0%
Elizabeth Dole 89%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
John Doolittle 100%
Byron Dorgan 11%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 21%
David Dreier 93%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 93%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
Chet Edwards 43%
Vern Ehlers 57%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 7%
Jo Ann Emerson 71%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 7%
Philip English 93%
John Ensign 78%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 14%
Bob Etheridge 14%
Lane Evans 14%
Terry Everett 93%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 21%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 7%
Tom Feeney 86%
Russ Feingold 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 33%
Michael Ferguson 86%
Bob Filner 7%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 71%
Mark Foley 100%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 93%
Harold Ford, Jr. 14%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 86%
Barney Frank 7%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 93%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 86%
William Frist 89%
Elton Gallegly 93%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 86%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 79%
Jim Gibbons 100%
Wayne Gilchrest 64%
Paul Gillmor 86%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 100%
Charlie Gonzalez 14%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 93%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 93%
Bart Gordon 29%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 86%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 89%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 93%
Mark Green 93%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 29%
Judd Gregg 78%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 7%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 7%
Gilbert Gutknecht 64%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 67%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 71%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 0%
Jane Harman 21%
Katherine Harris 93%
Melissa Hart 100%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 7%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 86%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
Robert Hayes 100%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top